The oldest traces of Antwerp are not found in bricks.Antwerpgrants a view of its distant past to those who dare to look.Discover traces of the medieval city by the river.
Antwerp’s oldest memory goes back to the 2nd and 3rd century:that’s when Gallo-Romans settled near Het Steen.After this our archaeological memory stalls… until the 9th century when the Scheldt River physically defined the margraviate Antwerp.An earthen rampart reinforced that border against the Vikings.The city developed behind the ramparts on the right bank. The left bank was foreign territory for centuries.That resonated in the language:people from Antwerp saw ‘those from across the water’ as foreign and hostile.
To defend themselves better, Antwerp’s residents built Het Steen and they dug a wide moat, which they surrounded with a stone fortress wall. The only remains left today are the Steenpoort and a few wall fragments in the Vleeshuisstraat and at Zakstraat number 6. The local population demarcated its terrain with water (ruien), gates and bridges thereby creating a ruien city. You can visit that city… underground. On the 900-year-old path you’ll discover the only remaining medieval Wijngaarde bridge.
Antwerp’s street layout is a silent witness.The triangular shape of the Grote Markt and the radial street plan, which has largely disappeared, are typical of the Early Middle Ages.Street names with the word “vest” refer to the 13th century when Antwerp’s residents were allowed to confirm their independence within the Duchy of Brabant with defensive moats.The statues at the main entrance of the cathedral are a tangible witness:a tribute to the people who helped spread Christianity.
Special opening days
Special closing days
Price per person:
City Card: .
The Antwerp Central Station, also known as Middenstatie (Middle station) or Spoorwegkathedraal (Railroad Cathedral), was first used in 1905. The structure is made up from a steel platform covering and a stone station building in an eclectic style. Recently, the station was completely renovated and in 2007 a tunnel underneath the station and a part of Antwerp was opened, reverting the station’s status as a terminus where are all trains have to turn back. In 2009, the American magazine Newsweek chose the Antwerp Central Station as the fourth most beautiful train station in the world.
The secret Vlaeykensgang alley dates from 1591 and connects Hoogstraat, Oude Koornmarkt Pelgrimstraat with one another.
St Anna’s Tunnel – or Underpass, as the locals like to refer to it – was opened in 1933.
Since World War I left Antwerp mutilated, it was time for optimistic renovation.