Museum Mayer van den Bergh

The Museum Mayer van den Bergh houses a unique collection of art from Belgium and abroad. This was assembled by Fritz Mayer van den Bergh, a 19th-century connoisseur who collected art virtually full-time.

Fritz who?

Fritz Mayer (1858-1901) was the son of Emil Mayer, a German and one of the wealthiest businessmen in 19th-century Antwerp. When Emil died, Fritz went to live with his mother and devoted himself to his passion: art collecting. In 1887, Fritz was elevated to the nobility, and added his mother’s surname to his own. From then on his full name was Fritz Mayer van den Bergh.

Self-taught

Entering the art world was no easy matter for Fritz, given his background in the business world. However, he learnt a lot in a relatively short time. Soon he was a true authority.
 
Fritz was keen on unknown and less popular art, which he acquired on a huge scale, studying each work in minute detail. Afterwards he would then sell some of the works. Clearly he had inherited his father’s entrepreneurial spirit.

Visionary

That Fritz was always ahead of his time – although sometimes only by a few months – is evident from the value of his collection. For instance, there are only fourteen paintings by Breughel anywhere in the world, two of which hang in the Museum Mayer van den Bergh. One of these is the famous work Dull Gret. 

The entire museum, which has a very home-like feel to it, is full of paintings, sculptures, tapestries, drawings and stained glass windows. It's not hard to succumb to this collector’s refined taste.

Mad Meg (Dulle Griet)

One can never tire of looking at Pieter Bruegel’s world-famous painting, Mad Meg. There’s always something new to see and experience. In general, the painting seems to be about the battle of the sexes. The relationship between men and women has been the theme of comedies and other works of art since antiquity. Bruegel let his imagination run wild and drew inspiration for this work from his predecessor, Hieronymus Bosch. In this scene, he depicts a kind of topsy-turvy world: the women wear the trousers.

The painting has returned to the Museum Mayer van den Bergh in Antwerp following a two-year absence, during which it underwent a thorough restoration. The painting has been brought back to its original splendour. 

After visiting the Museum Mayer van den Bergh, stay in historical mood with a visit to the Maidens’ House Museum or the Rubens House, or carry on exploring the Theatre District

Jan Crab

Contact

Lange Gasthuisstraat 19
Antwerpen
+32 33 38 81 88
http://www.museummayervandenbergh.be
museum.mayervandenbergh@stad.antwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: NaN-NaN-NaN Until: ...
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 17:00
0 10:00 - 17:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 8

Reduction rates

12 - 25: 6.

> 65: 6.

< 12: 0.

Attendants of people with a handicap: 0.

Trade: 6.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

Museum Plantin-Moretus - copyright Victoriano Moreno

Museum Plantin-Moretus

The history of the book printing industry comes to life in the house and studio of the Plantin-Moretus printing family.

Cathedral of Our Lady - copyright Dave Van Laere

Cathedral of Our Lady

It took 169 years (1352-1521) of labour to raise the 123m heavenward-reaching steeple of the Cathedral, the highest Gothic building in the Low Countries. The Cathedral is an iconic treasury, with an impressive collection of major art works, including a series of paintings by Rubens. Now, after twenty years, the seven-naved church has been restored to its former architectural glory. Fascinating features include Rubens’ ‘Elevation of the Cross’ and his ‘Descent from the Cross’. Any visit to Antwerp starts with a visit of the Cathedral of Our Lady.

St. Paul’s Church - copyright Jan Crab

St. Paul’s Church

Near the river Scheldt you find Saint Paul’s Church, the former Dominican church, which was completed in 1639.

Central Station - copyright Dave Van Laere

Central Station

The Antwerp Central Station, also known as Middenstatie (Middle station) or Spoorwegkathedraal (Railroad Cathedral), was first used in 1905. The structure is made up from a steel platform covering and a stone station building in an eclectic style. Recently, the station was completely renovated and in 2007 a tunnel underneath the station and a part of Antwerp was opened, reverting the station’s status as a terminus where are all trains have to turn back. In 2009, the American magazine Newsweek chose the Antwerp Central Station as the fourth most beautiful train station in the world.

Maidens' House Museum - copyright OCMW Antwerpen

Maidens' House Museum

Discover the collection of art from the 15th to 17th century of this former orphanage for girls.

[object Object]