100% Belgian by Monica Ho

Monica Ho blogs under the name Monica Harmony. She was born and raised in Belgium and is a big fan of fashion and Belgian designers. She is inspired by street style, inspiring others with her own unique style. And now she shares her list of favourite Antwerp hotspots with shopping addicts.

100% Belgian

Antwerp is the Belgian fashion capital par excellence. Hot on the success of the Antwerp Six in the Eighties, the city soon developed into a favourite destination for fashionistas. Many of the Belgian designers who shot to international fame preferred to go back to their roots over time, opening flagship stores in Antwerp. The city has several neighbourhoods, which are all equally unique. There are also some hidden gems here and there, which can all be easily reached on foot. In addition to Antwerp’s main shopping drag, which is called Meir and where you will find all the large chains such as Zara and H&M, there are several other neighbourhoods with shops that are 100% Belgian, offering 100% quality.

Atelier Solarshop

Atelier Solarshop is located near Antwerp’s Central Station. This shop originally started out as a solar panel shop, but has since become the place to be for art, fashion and designer lovers. Run by the Antwerp designer Jan-Jan Van Essche and the photographer Pietro Celestina, Atelier Solarshop stocks the collections of young designers as well as Jan-Jan’s own clothing line. He applies his design philosophy, which is all about comfort, to all his collections, creating ethical and qualitative garments, which are all made in Belgium.

Dambruggestraat 48

Coccodrillo

Forget about diamonds, shoes are a girl’s best friend! And if you love shoes, then there’s only one place to go: to Coccodrillo of course! Founded in 1983 by Geert Bruloot and Eddy Michiels, this shop is still hugely successful. It was the first shop to stock Martin Margiela’s unique shoes, which only enhanced Coccodrillo’s visionary image. Since then, the owners have established a close relationship with such luxury brands as Balenciaga, Prada, Raf Simons and Dries Van Noten. Spotted some one-of-a-kind shoes on the catwalk? Then look no further, Cinderella because Coccodrillo is bound to have it!

Arenbergstraat 2

Dries Van Noten

No list of shopping hotspots would be complete without Dries Van Noten, one of the “original members” of the Antwerp Six. The Antwerp designer has succeeded in enchanting women and men of all ages with his collections and his successful “fashion emporium”. By sticking to his design aesthetic, i.e., using bold prints, he has become a fixture on the international fashion scene. Van Noten’s shop, which is located in Modepaleis, sells his collections but is also renowned for its amazing window displays, with enchanting scenes that weave a story around his clothes.

Nationalestraat 16

Christian Wijnants

Two years ago, Christian Wijnants, who is well-known for his amazing knitwear, even teaching at Antwerp’s fashion academy and winning an International Woolmark Prize, opened a magnificent store in Steenhouwersvest. His iconic clothes and accessory collections always stand out because of their colourful prints and amazing design techniques.

Steenhouwersvest 36

Wouters & Hendrix

Katrin Wouters and Karen Hendrix, who both studied at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp, have over 30 years of experience designing jewellery. Their shop in Steenhouwersvest sells elegant and refined jewellery that is all made in Belgium. The designers tell a unique story with each of their collections, with jewels that are designed and manufactured with outstanding craftsmanship. Silver, gold, precious gems… At Wouters & Hendrix you can buy slightly more expensive jewellery that will last a lifetime!

Steenhouwersvest 52

Graanmarkt13

Graanmarkt13 is the jack of all trades on Antwerp’s shopping scene and probably one of Antwerp’s best-known concept stores. Here they sell clothes by leading international brands such as Kenzo and Marni as well as elegant interior decoration objects. This place has it all: a gallery, a restaurant and even a beautifully designed apartment above the store when you can spend the night.

Graanmarkt 13

Honest By

If you believe in ethical fashion, then pop into Bruno Pieters’s shop, which is called Honest by. This label sells stylish and sustainable clothing, sharing the story of every individual garment in the collection. So you always know what you’re buying and where it came from. 100% transparency guaranteed. You can buy the collection online but the designer also recently opened his first flagship store in Antwerp.

Aalmoezenierstraat 2

Garderobe Nationale

Garderobe nationale sells a mix of young designers and timeless brands. Nathalie Lechat, the owner, who is also the designer of Belgian fashion brand Magdalena, created a stunning store with a simple design, that highlights the clothes on the racks and shelves. Nathalie is always on the lookout for new brands, specialising in affordable Belgian designers.

Nationalestraat 72

Morrison

Anyone who thinks knitted jumpers are old-fashioned should check out the knitwear at Morrison. Patrick and Jan Olyslager run this unique clothes store in Nationalestraat. They are also the designers of the Belgian knitwear brand Howlin’, working with qualitative and sustainably produced Shetland wool. They guarantee that every Morrison jumper was ethically produced and will last for years. In addition to Howlin’, Morrison also sells other brands such as Leathercraft, Ally Capellino and Hartford.

Nationalestraat 20

Studio Collect

If you love unique jewellery, then you’ve come to the right place. The four women who design Studio Collect met while studying jewellery design at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp. They opened a pop-up  shop in Wilde Zee in 2013 and have since moved to a permanent store in Kloosterstraat. Weddings rings and customised jewellery, something to suit everyone’s taste.

Kloosterstraat 28

A break at Kaffeenini

Kaffeenini provides a welcome break during your shopping trip. If you’re hungry, consider ordering one of their delicious bagels or Flammkuchen while you give your feet a much-needed rest.

Nationalestraat 114a

Don’t miss: De Nieuwe Natie

Discover a range of surprising new brands at De Nieuwe Natie in the Stadsfeestzaal shopping centre until 31 March. A group of young creative start-ups are temporarily selling their fun and innovative products here.

Monica Harmonie - telling personal style stories with a twist

Monica Ho

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

100% belge by Monica Ho

Monica Ho est le nom derrière le blog de Monica Harmony. Née en Belgique, Monica est passionnée de mode, en particulier des stylistes belges. Elle puise son inspiration dans la rue et son style inspire à son tour le grand public. Elle partage ses meilleures adresses anversoises avec ses lecteurs.

100% belge

Anvers est la ville de la mode par excellence. Un élan initié dans les années 80 par les Antwerp Six a fait la réputation de la ville en matière de stylisme d’avant-garde. De nombreux stylistes belges connus sur la scène internationale reviennent du reste s’établir à Anvers.

Anvers est riche en quartiers caractéristiques qui recèlent de petits joyaux à découvrir à pied. Outre la grande artère commerçante, le Meir, où sont établies les grandes enseignes comme Zara et H&M, d’autres quartiers regorgent de petites boutiques qui vendent des vêtements de grande qualité.

Atelier Solarshop

Vous trouverez Atelier Solarshop à proximité de la Gare Centrale. À l’origine spécialisée dans l’énergie solaire, la boutique est aujourd’hui un must pour les amateurs de mode, d’art et de design. Exploitée par le styliste anversois Jan-Jan Van Essche et le photographe Pietro Celestina, la boutique vend aussi bien les collections de stylistes débutants que celles de Van Essche. La philosophie de Jan-Jan en matière de design donne la priorité au confort et se traduit par des créations de qualité toutes produites en Belgique.

Dambruggestraat 48

Coccodrillo

Oubliez les diamants, les meilleures amies des femmes sont les chaussures ! Si vous adorez les chaussures, vous ne pouvez pas manquer de visiter la boutique Coccodrillo ! Coccodrillo a été fondée en 1983 par Geert Bruloot et Eddy Michiels et connaît toujours un énorme succès. Ce fut du reste la première boutique à vendre les chaussures de Martin Margiela, ce qui contribua grandement à l’image visionnaire de la boutique. Ses exploitants entretiennent depuis lors des relations étroites avec les maisons de luxe comme Balenciaga, Prada, Raf Simons et Dries Van Noten. Une paire de chaussures vous a tapé dans l’œil à un défilé de mode ? Il y a de grandes chances que vous la trouviez chez Coccodrillo !

Arenbergstraat 2

Dries Van Noten

Membre ‘fondateur’ des Antwerp Six, Dries Van Noten ne saurait manquer de figurer sur la liste des incontournables. Dries Van Noten est aujourd’hui à la tête d’un empire de la mode et ses collections séduisent saison après saison les amateurs de vêtements élégants de tous les âges. Resté fidèle à son éthique en matière d’imprimés originaux, il s’est taillé une réputation impeccable sur la scène de la mode. Établie au Modepaleis, la boutique de Dries ravit les visiteurs non seulement par la beauté de ses collections, mais aussi par ses magnifiques vitrines, véritables mises en scène de sa vision de styliste.

Nationalestraat 16

Christian Wijnants

Christian Wijnants, renommé pour ses tricots qui lui valurent d’enseigner un temps à l’Académie de Mode d’Anvers et de remporter le Prix Woolmark international, a depuis deux ans une magnifique boutique au Steenhouwersvest. Des imprimés bariolés et de magnifiques techniques de design sont déclinées en collections et accessoires iconiques.

Steenhouwersvest 36

Wouters & Hendrix

Katrin Wouters et Karen Hendrix, toutes deux diplômées de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers, ont trente ans d’expérience en bijouterie. Vous trouverez dans leur boutique du Steenhouwersvest des bijoux élégants et raffinés produits en Belgique. Chacune de leur collection raconte une histoire particulière à travers des bijoux magistralement conçus et réalisés. Argent, or, pierres précieuses, toutes ces matières sont transformées par Wouters & Hendrix en bijoux certes un peu plus chers que la moyenne, mais qui vous accompagneront toute votre vie.

Steenhouwersvest 52

Graanmarkt13

Graanmarkt13 est la boutique-à-tout-faire d’Anvers. C’est sans conteste un de ses concept stores les plus renommés. On y vent non seulement des vêtements de grandes marques internationales comme Kenzo et Marni, mais aussi d’élégants objets de décoration intérieure. C’est une adresse où vous trouverez littéralement de tout : une galerie d’art, un restaurant et même un appartement magnifiquement aménagé où vous pouvez loger !

Graanmarkt 13

Honest By

Si vous êtes sensible à l’éthique en matière de mode, vous devez absolument aller voir la boutique du styliste Bruno Pieters Honest by, une marque qui couvre non seulement des vêtements durables mais qui partage aussi l’histoire de chaque pièce vendue. Vous savez parfaitement d’où elle vient. 100 pour cent de transparence donc. Tout est également en vente en ligne et la marque va bientôt ouvrir son premier magasin phare à Anvers.

Aalmoezenierstraat 2

Garderobe Nationale

Vous trouverez à la superbe boutique Garderobe Nationale un cocktail de pièces de jeunes stylistes et de marques établies. L’exploitante Nathalie Lechat, le visage derrière la marque de mode belge Magdalena, a conçu une boutique d’une grande sobriété qui met les vêtements en valeur. Nathalie est toujours à l’affût de stylistes belges dont les créations sont d’un prix abordable.

Nationalestraat 72

Morrison

Les pulls tricotés ne sont pas forcément vieux jeu et Morrison en apporte la preuve. Cette boutique de tricots unique à la Nationalestraat est gérée par Patrick et Jan Olyslager, les créateurs de la marque de lainages belges Howlin’ à base de laine shetland durable et de qualité. Ils vous garantissent que chaque pull de Morrison est issu du commerce équitable et fait pour durer. Morrison vend aussi d’autres marques comme Leathercraft, Ally Capellino, Hartford et bien d’autres.

Nationalestraat 20

Studio Collect

Vous êtes à la bonne adresse si vous cherchez des bijoux qui se démarquent du reste ! Les quatre dames qui tiennent la boutique se sont rencontrées pendant leurs études à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers. Leur passion commune pour les bijoux s’est traduite en 2013 par l’ouverture d’un lieu de vente éphémère au Wilde Zee qui est maintenant une boutique établie de la Kloosterstraat. Des alliances aux bijoux customisés, il y en a pour tous les goûts.

Kloosterstraat 28

Souffler un peu au Kaffeenini

Kaffeenini offre une pause bien méritée aux amateurs de lèche-vitrine. Et si vous avez faim, goûtez absolument un de ses délicieux bagels ou une Flammkuch !

Nationalestraat 114a

À ne pas manquer : De Nieuwe Natie

Découvrez encore jusqu’au 31 mars la boutique éphémère Nieuwe Natie à la galerie marchande Shopping Stadsfeestzaal et sa belle gamme de produits présentés pour un temps par des créatifs.

Monica Harmonie - telling personal style stories with a twist

Monica Ho

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]