A winter weekend in Antwerp

Make the most of your city trip to wintery Antwerp and be inspired by the many, heart-warming options. 

Saturday

09.00
Breakfast always tastes better when you don’t have to prepare it yourself. Enjoy a croissant and a hot chocolate as you read your newspaper after which you are ready to head into the city centre.

10.00
It’s early still and the perfect time to admire the Baroque splendour of St Charles Borromeo Church in lovely Conscienceplein. The enormous altarpiece above the main altar is changed three times a year. One of the paintings is even a real Rubens.They use a special pulley system for this, which is over 400 years old. This is a complicated process and quite a sight to behold. Once outside, check out the fun stores in Wijngaardstraat as you walk towards Grote Markt.

10.30
If you are interested in finding out more about the stately façades of the Guild Houses and about Brabo, the young man who lobbed the giant’s hand into the Scheldt, then walk over to the tourist information office. But you can also ask an Antwerper as you sip a Bolleke in one of the many traditional pubs. From the traditional pub, it’s back to architectural grandeur. And after a Bolleke, the Cathedral of Our Lady looks even more impressive. Here you will come face to face with the great masterpieces of Rubens. Walk past Groenplaats and Boerentoren and then make your way to Meir, where several large chains have set up shop in a series of magnificent buildings.One of the eye-catchers along Meir is the former Royal Palace ‘Paleis op de Meir’, the former Rococo retreat
of our royal family, and before that of Napoleon. Now you can buy delicious addictive chocolates here. If you’re up for more Rubens, turn the corner onto Wapper, where the walls of the flamboyant Rubens House are covered with artworks and where you can see how the master himself lived.

13.00
All this history will have made you hungry. There are plenty of nice places that serve good food near Theaterplein and Graanmarkt. Or why not have a snack on the go at the exotic Saturday market in Theaterplein?

14.00
In Antwerp, old artworks are harmoniously juxtaposed with fashionable stores. Wilde Zee, the area around Schuttershofstraat and Huidevettersstraat, is the place to discover authentic Antwerp craftsmanship

17.30
Time for some action. Score a coupleof skates and take a spin or two around the statue of Rubens. You have definitely earned that drink. Fortunately, there is cosy winter bar near the ice-skating rink.

18.30
Shhh, Nello and Patrasche are asleep in Handschoenmarkt. Follow the delicious scent of bacon potatoes, churros and other tasty items to Grote Markt and have a snack near one of the campfires in the Christmas market. Don’t worry if you find it too cold to eat outdoors. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. Need some fresh air before diving into a music pub or cocktail bar? Then take
a stroll along the Scheldt and enjoy the breath-taking views of the river and the left bank. Or look down at the many glittering lights as you take a ride on the giant Ferris wheel.

Sunday

09.30
Time to work that body. Buy a Velo day pass and bike over to Zuidand Bolivarplaats, where you can see the wings of the Law Courts sparkle in the winter sun. Slightly less striking but equally inviting is the architecture of M HKA, Antwerp’s contemporary art
museum, which lurks behind high white walls. End your visit with a pitstop in the M HKAFE on the fourthf loor for a healthy lunch. With a bit of luck you can enjoy the sun on the large roof terrace.

13.30
In recent years, the cream of the crop of Antwerp’s art scene seems to have converged in Zuid. Besides M HKA,you will also find FoMu, short for Photo Museum, here as well as a host of art galleries. Zuid with its bars and trendy shops is considered to be
Antwerp’s trendiest neighbourhood and the place to go for spotting famous locals.

14.30
Many of the shops in Kloosterstraat, that sell antiques and vintage items, are also open on Sunday. Then walk towards Oude Koornmarkt through Vlaeykensgang. This alley will transport you back in time to the Middle Ages.

15.30
Eilandje, Antwerp’s most vibrant district, is just waiting to be discovered. In recent years, several fun restaurants and shops opened here. Walk through the Schipperskwartier to and through Felix Pakhuis to get to Willemdok, Antwerp’s oldest dock. Learn more about the story of Antwerp, the port and the world as you work your way up the floors in the MAS museum.The higher the gallery, the more spectacular the views of the city. And if you’re lucky, you may even catch a stunning sunset on the rooftop terrace at the end of your visit. 

17.30
No, we are not ready to go home yet! Still have some time and energy? Then take the tram or bike to Central Station. Step inside and take a good look around. The trains look like toy trains against the backdrop of this magnificent building, which has already been named one of the world’smost beautiful stations on several occasions. Or visit the ZOO. In winter, the ZOO also opens its doors at night.Because once the animals retire to their respective nests and beds, hundreds of fabric lanterns light up during China Light. A magical sight to behold!

Tom Cornille

Contact




http://www.winterinantwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Un week-end d’hiver à Anvers

Tirez le meilleur profit de votre city trip d'hiver à Anvers en vous inspirant de son vaste et chaleureux programme d'activités.

Samedi

09h00
Le petit-déjeuner a toujours meilleur goût quand on ne le prépare pas soi-même. Un croissant, un chocolat chaud et le journal du week-end et vous voilà d’attaque pour une journée dans le centre-ville. 

10h00
Il est encore tôt et c’est le moment idéal pour admirer la splendeur baroque de l’église Saint-Charles Borromée, sur la charmante Conscienceplein. L’énorme tableau qui surmonte le maître-autel est remplacé trois fois par an et l’un des trois est un Rubens. Le remplacement du retable s’effectue avec un système de poulies qui a plus de 400 ans. Une véritable prouesse et un impressionnant spectacle. En sortant de l’église, regardez un peu les boutiques originales en direction de la Grand-Place.

10h30
Rendez-vous à l’office du tourisme si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les belles façades des maisons de guildes et sur Brabo, le jeune homme qui d’un geste élégant lance la main du géant dans l’Escaut. Mais vous pouvez tout autant vous renseigner auprès d’un Anversois tout en buvant une Bolleke dans un des nombreux estaminets. Quittons le café pour visiter un autre joyau architectural. La cathédrale Notre-Dame est encore plus impressionnante après une bonne bière locale. Vous y serez face aux grands chefs d’oeuvre de Pierre Paul Rubens. Passez par la Groenplaats et la Boerentoren et vous voilà sur le Meir, l’artère commerciale où les grands magasins ont élu domicile dans de magnifiques maisons anciennes. Un des bâtiments les plus remarquables du Meir est l’ancien Palais Royal, ancienne demeure de style rococo de la famille royale, et de Napoléon avant elle.
Vous pouvez aujourd’hui y acheter de délicieuses pralines de préparation artisanale. Pour plus de Rubens, tournez à droite sur le Wapper, où se trouvent l’imposante Maison Rubens House dont les murs sont tapissés de tableaux et qui a été réaménagée comme à l’époque où y vivait le grand maître anversois.

13h00
Cette promenade historique vous aura sans doute ouvert l’appétit. Vous trouverez autour de la Theaterplein et du Graanmarkt toute une gamme de bonnes adresses. A moins que vous préfériez manger sur le pouce un petit plat exotique sur le marché
multiculturel à la Theaterplein.

14h00
A Anvers, les oeuvres d’art anciennes cohabitent harmonieusement avec les boutiques branchées. La Wilde Zee, la zone de la Schuttershofstraat et de la Huidevettersstraat, est l’endroit idéal pour goûter à l’authentique artisanat anversois. 

17h30
Un peu d’action maintenant. Enfilez des patins pour faire quelques tours sur la patinoire à glace installée autour de la statue de ubens. Vous avez bien mérité un petit apéritif. Il ya justement un petit bar convivial à proximité de la patinoire.

18h30
Chuuut. Nello & Patrasche sont endormis sur le Handschoenmarkt. Laissez vous guider par les odeurs de pommes de terre au lard, churros et autres délices jusqu’à la Grand-Place et régalez-vous à proximité d’un brasero du Marché de Noël. Et les restaurants ne manquent pas à proximité si vous avez trop froid! Une dernière balade au grand air avant d’entrer dans un café-concert ou un bar à cocktails. Montez sur la promenade donnant sur l’Escaut pour une vue magnifique du fleuve et de larive gauche. Ou prenez un billet pour la grande roue si vous voulez admirer le panorama d’encore plus haut.

Dimanche

09h30
Un peu d’exercice physique ne vous fera pas de mal : achetez une carte Velo pour la journée et pédalez en direction du Sud jusqu’à la Bolivarplaats. Vous verrez briller de loin les ailes du Palais de Justice. L’architecture du M HKA, le musée d’art moderne d’Anvers, est certes moins voyante mais tout aussi impressionnante. Terminez la visite du musée au quatrième étage, pour prendre un bon déjeuner au M HKAFE. Avec un peu de chance,vous pourrez prendre le soleil sur sa grande terrasse panoramique.

13h30
Les artistes anversois ont investi le quartier Zuid depuis quelques années. Vous y trouverez donc outrel e M HKA le FoMu, le musée de laphotographie, et quantité de galeries d’art. Avec ses bars et ses belles boutiques, le Zuid est considéré comme le quartier le plus tendance d’Anvers. C’est donc l’endroit idéal pour croiser les célébrités locales.

14h30
La plupart des antiquaires etbrocanteurs de la Kloosterstraatouvrent leurs portes le dimanche.Une fois que vous aurez suffisamment chiné, rejoignez le Oude Koornmarkt en passant par le Vlaeykensgang. Cette petite impasse entre les maisons vous fera remonter au Moyen-Age.

15h30
L’Eilandje, le quartier le plus animé d’Anvers, vaut le détour. Une multitude de bons restaurants et de boutiques s’y sont établis depuis quelques années. Passez par le Quartier des Marins pour rejoindre la Felixpakhuis. La Binnenstraatje débouche sur le Bassin Guillaume, le plus ancien d’Anvers. Le musée MAS est le lieu pour découvrir étage après étage l’histoire d’Anvers, du port et
du monde. A chaque étage, vous avez une vue plus belle de la ville. Et peutêtre aurez-vous la chance d’atteindre sa terrasse panoramique au coucher du soleil. 

17h30
C’est encore trop tôt pour rentrer! S’il vous reste de l’énergie et du temps, prenez le tram ou le véloen direction de la Gare Centrale. N’hésitez pas à entrer dans la salle des pas perdus. Vous serez bluffé par l’intérieur de cette ‘cathédrale du rail’. Les trains ont l’air de modèles réduits sous la coupole de ce gigantesque bâtiment, qui a été à plusieurs reprises déclaré une des plus belles gares ferroviaires au monde. Ou peut-être préférez-vous visiter le Zoo. Mais oui, le jardin zoologique se visite le soir, même en hiver. Car une fois que les animaux ont regagné leur cage, des centaines d’étranges créatures s’illuminent à l’occasion de China Light. Un spectacle envoûtant...

Tom Cornille

Contact




http://www.winterinantwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]