9 facts you should know about Antwerp’s red light district

Antwerp’s red light district is the ideal base between the bustling city centre and the trendy Eilandje neighbourhood. While this part of Antwerp traditionally has been the realm of the ladies of the night, nowadays it has much more to offer to visitors to the city. Here’s a list with some facts about the red light district.

Falconplein


Falconplein borders the red light district and Eilandje. Nowadays you can find plenty of fun bars, pubs and Wah Kel, Antwerp’s oldest Chinese restaurant, in this once infamous square. Every Sunday you always buy healthy food at the weekly organic market, which runs from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m.


Café d’Anvers


Over the years, several night clubs opened in the red light district, including Cafe d’Anvers. This former church, which became one of the most influential clubs in house music, has been a popular weekend hangout in Antwerp for several years now. The place to go if you are a house or techno fan.


Cargo Club


Formerly known as Red & Blue, Cargo Club is one of the largest gay clubs in Europe. Men only on Saturdays.


Saint Paul’s Church


We highly recommend visiting Saint Paul’s, if you find yourself in the red light district. The magnificent interior will definitely take your breath away. The church is the repository of over fifty paintings by famous Antwerp masters such as Rubens, Van Dyck and Jordaens. During a fire in 1968, the church’s neighbours, including a sizeable population of ladies of pleasure, managed to save a large part of the artworks in the church. You can find further information about the opening hours of Saint Paul’s Church
here.


Antwerp’s Ruien


Antwerp’s Ruien run under the red light district. In the past, the ruien were used as the city’s sewers and canals but nowadays you can explore them during a walk through underground Antwerp. Further information about Antwerp’s Ruien and booking a walk.


Villa Tinto


Antwerp’s red light district was known around the world. In recent years, however, the number of premises used for prostitution was drastically reduced as a result of the concentration of all activities to a zone of just three streets where prostitution is condoned. But the number of red lights remained the same, among others thanks to Villa Tinto, with 51 new windows in just one building.


New comic strip wall


The red light district now also has its own comic strip wall. The recently added artwork in Brouwersvliet was created by the Dutch illustrator, comic strip artist and graphic designer Joost Swarte. The drawing, which covers a surface area of over 300 sq.m. is called “Seven virtues/Seven vices”.


Spending the night in a B&B


Antwerp’s red light district, which is situated between the historic city centre and Eilandje, is an excellent location to spend the night. Bed & breakfasts Yellow Submarine and Lucy in the Sky are the perfect place to unwind after a fun-filled day in Antwerp.


Walk


Are you curious to learn more about the red light district? Then why don’t you invite your family and friends for a guided group tour of Schipperskapelstraat, Sint-Paulusplaats, Veemarkt, Klapdorp, Falconplein and your final destination, the MAS. Find out for yourself why this neighbourhood is so worthwhile.
 

Elvire Photography

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

9 choses à savoir sur le Quartier des Marins d’Anvers

Le Quartier des Marins d’Anvers fait le lien entre le centre-ville et le nouveau quartier branché de l’Eilandje. De tous temps, un haut lieu des plaisirs de la chair, le Quartier Rouge d’Anvers a bien davantage à offrir depuis quelques années. D’où l’utilité de cette liste des choses à savoir sur le Quartier des Marins.

Falconplein

La Falconplein constitue la limite entre le Quartier des Marins et l’Eilandje. Sur cette place autrefois réputée, vous trouverez aussi quantité de petits bars, de cafés, ainsi que Wah Kel, le plus ancien restaurant chinois d’Anvers. La place accueille chaque dimanche matin un marché bio de 8 à 16 heures.


Café d’Anvers

Quantité de clubs et discothèques se sont établis dans le Quartier des Marins au fil des années, Café d’Anvers par exemple. Cette ancienne église transformée en temple de la musique house est depuis des années un club très connu à Anvers. Les amateurs de house et de techno ont trouvé leur port d’attache.


Cargo Club

Le club autrefois connu sous le nom Red & Blue a récemment été rebaptisé Cargo Club. Cargo Club est une des plus grandes discothèques gay d’Europe. Exclusivement réservé aux hommes le samedi.


Église Saint-Paul

Ne manquez pas de franchir le seuil de l’église Saint-Paul si vous êtes dans le Quartier des Marins. Vous serez ébloui par la richesse de son intérieur. Elle contient en effet plus de cinquante tableaux d’illustres maîtres anversois comme Rubens, Van Dyck et Jordaens. Lorsqu’un incendie éclata en 1968, tous les riverains, y compris les prostituées, se mobilisèrent pour sauver des flammes la plupart des toiles. Vous trouverez ici plus d’informations sur cette église.


Les Ruien

Les Ruien, les anciens canaux de la ville, coulent sous le Quartier des Marins. Ils servaient autrefois de douves et d’égouts de la ville, mais vous pouvez aujourd’hui les parcourir avec un guide. Plus d’informations sur les Ruien et la réservation d’une visite.


Villa Tinto

Le Quartier des Marins est aussi connu comme le Quartier Rouge. Le nombre de maisons de passe a considérablement diminué ces dernières années car elles se concentraient sur une zone de tolérance d’à peine trois rues. Mais le nombre de néons rouges n’a pas diminué, grâce à l’ouverture de Villa Tinto, qui concentre 51 vitrines dans un seul bâtiment.

 

Nouveau mur de BD

Il y a aussi depuis peu un mur de BD au Quartier des Marins. Cette nouvelle œuvre au Brouwersvliet est de l’illustrateur, cartooniste et graphiste néerlandais Joost Swarte. Son dessin de plus de 300 mètres carrés est intitulé ‘Sept vertus, sept vices’.


Nuitée dans un B&B

Situé entre le quartier historique et l’Eilandje, le Quartier des Marins est un lieu idéal pour une nuitée à Anvers. Vous apprécierez le repos des B&B Yellow Submarine et Lucy in the Sky après une belle journée passée dans la ville.


Balade

Le Quartier des Marins éveille votre curiosité? Pourquoi ne pas inviter quelques amis pour une balade de groupe guidée. Itinéraire : Schipperskapelstraat, la Sint-Paulusplaats, Veemarkt, Klapdorp, Falconplein et MAS destination finale. Découvrez par vous-même ce quartier haut en couleurs.

Elvire Photography

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]