Antwerp City Brewery

The beers of De Koninck, including its famed “Bolleke” beer, have been brewed in Mechelsesteenweg for centuries. In 2015, the De Koninck city brewery opened an experience centre, inviting the public in for a look behind the scenes. The tour of the centre allows visitors to hear, see and taste the brewery’s story. In addition, the De Koninck site accommodates a culinary food court, where you can taste chocolate, cheese, meats and bread and where you can even eat at a restaurant. 

Experience the brewery

On the video screens in the various spaces people share information about beer. You find out more about the brewing process and bottling in the brew house with the copper kettles and in the bottling facility. In another space the brewery has built a pub, which resembles a film set. Here you can see moving portraits of the successive owners of De Koninck talk to each other, as if the photos have come to life.
 
The visit ends in the bar where you can sample some of the brewery’s beers. Gourmets can also order a tasting plate of cheese that has been matured by Van Tricht. 
 

Here, you are welcome with your Antwerp City Card! Discover the benefits and buy your City Card online

 

Meet the ‘trendsetters’

The time when only beer was brewed at De Koninck is over. A number of culinary establishments have now set up stall at the site of Stadsbrouwerij De Koninck, where you can buy, taste, attend workshops or even dine to complete your brewery visit.   
 
For example, chocolatier JITSK established a chocolate workshop and shop here, where he makes sweet creations that are appreciated the world over. Cheese ripeners Van Tricht have ripened their cheeses at the brewery for a number of years, but have now also opened a shop and Only Cheese bar, where you can taste and buy cheeses. 
 
Top butchers De Laet & Van Haver accommodated their Butcher’s Store at the site. While you choose meat from the refrigerated counter, you see the pieces hanging in the glass refrigerator. Chef Bert-Jan Michielsen and sommelier Luc Dickens serve up the tastiest dishes at their restaurant The Butcher’s Son. And at Minestrone Cookbooks, culinary photographer and publisher Tony Le Duc give cookery sessions and workshops at the brewery’s former lab. 
 
Anyone who is left hungry or thirsty after this can head to the Brasserie De Pelgrim on the site for a freshly tapped Bolleke or tasty Flemish fare in an original and cosy setting. And if you feel the need to work off the calories afterwards, you can make your way to the Velodrome, the City’s ultimate bike shop.  
 
Last but not least, baker Kenney Van Hoorick started The Bakery here, where his fresh sourdough bread is very popular. Every week, he manages to create a new type of bread. 
 
Opening hours:
Open daily from 10 am to 6 pm (last admission ticket at 4.30 pm).
First Saturday of the month open until 10 pm with last admission to the tour at 8 pm.

Contact

Mechelsesteenweg 291
Antwerpen
+32 38 66 96 90
http://www.dekoninck.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 12

Reduction rates

> 65: 10.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

Related content

Sunday Shopping

Sunday Shopping

Many of the shops in the historical city centre are open every first Sunday of the month. Performances and small mobile events like the Antwerp Fashion Festival and Models on Wheels make Sunday shopping an even more memorable experience. 

Antwerp in 24 and 48 hours

Antwerp in 24 and 48 hours

Whether you’re coming to Antwerp for a hefty helping of culture, to soak up some history, to shop or to enjoy Antwerp’s culinary delights, you’ll find them all within reach. Antwerp may be compact, but it has a great deal to offer. Get all you can out of it by using the Antwerp City Card as your guide. The card (valid for 24, 48 or 72 hours) will open the nicest, tastiest and most surprising doors of the city for you, for free or at a discount. Discovering is now up to you. Have fun!

La brasserie De Koninck

Les bières De Koninck, dont la fameuse Bolleke, sont brassées depuis des années sur la Mechelsesteenweg. La brasserie communale De Koninck a ouvert en 2015 un centre de découverte de la bière, ouvrant ainsi ses portes au grand public. Un lieu où vous apprendrez tout sur la bière et la brasserie selon un parcours qui fera appel à tous vos sens. Sur le site de De Koninck aussi vous trouverez une ville miniature où vous pouvez goûter à du chocolat, du fromage, de la charcuterie et du pain et où vous pouvez même aller au restaurant. 

Découvrez la brasserie

Sur des écrans vidéo disséminés dans les salles, des personnes vous parlent de la bière. La salle des cuves et la salle de mise en bouteilles portent sur le processus de brassage et l’embouteillage. Dans une autre salle, un café a été reconstruit comme pour un plateau de cinéma : des portraits vivants des propriétaires successifs de la maison De Koninck engagent le dialogue.
 
La visite s’achève au bar par une petite dégustation de bières De Koninck accompagnées pour les gourmets d’une petite assiette de fromages de chez Van Tricht. 
 

Vous êtes ici le bienvenu avec votre Antwerp City Card ! Découvrez vos avantages et achetez votre carte « Antwerp City Card » en ligne

 

Découvrez les ‘créateurs de goûts’ 

L’époque où chez De Koninck on se contentait de brasser de la bière est bien révolue. Au fil du temps un nombre d’établissements culinaires ont ouvert leur atelier sur le site de Stadsbrouwerij De Koninck. Vous pouvez y faire vos achats, déguster, suivre un atelier de travail, voire même dîner afin de rendre complète votre visite de la brasserie.  
 
Ainsi le chocolatier JITSK a installé ici un atelier et une boutique de chocolat. Il y propose des créations douces qui sont appréciées dans le monde entier. Les affineurs de fromage Van Tricht affinent déjà depuis plusieurs années leurs fromages dans la brasserie, mais depuis ils y ont également ouvert leur magasin et le bar Only Cheese, où l’on peut goûter et acheter ses fromages. 
 
Les bouchers de qualité De Laet & Van Haver ont trouvé un abri sur le site pour The Butcher’s Store. Tandis que vous choisissez votre viande dans le comptoir réfrigéré, vous voyez les quartiers de viande suspendus dans la chambre froide vitrée. Le chef Bert-Jan Michielsen et le sommelier Luc Dickens, quant à eux, servent les plats les plus succulents dans leur restaurant The Butcher’s Son. Et chez Minestrone Cookbooks le photographe et éditeur culinaire Tony Le Duc dispense des sessions de cuisine et de des ateliers de travail dans l’ancien laboratoire de la brasserie. 
 
Et si après tout ceci vous avez toujours un petit creux ou un peu soif, vous pouvez toujours vous rendre sur ce site à la Brasserie De Pelgrim, pour une Bolleke bien fraîche ou pour un plat flamand dans un cadre original et chaleureux. Et si pour digérer vous avez besoin de bouger un peu, il suffit de passer chez Velodome, le magasin de vélos par excellence de la ville. 
 
Last but not least, le boulanger Kenney Van Hoorick a lancé ici The Bakery, où il vend avec succès son pain de levain frais. Chaque semaine il surprend avec une nouvelle variété de pain sur sa planche. 
 
Heures d 'ouverture:
Ouvert tous les jours de 10 h à 18 h (dernière billet d'admission à 16.30).
Premier samedi du mois ouvert jusqu'à 22 heures, avec la dernière admission à la visite à 20 heures.

www.ilovelight.be

Contact

Mechelsesteenweg 291
Antwerpen
+32 38 66 96 90
http://www.dekoninck.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 12

Reduction rates

> 65: 10.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]