Antwerp reliable diamond centre

Antwerp has been the world’s most important and reliable diamond centre for five centuries. A volume of diamonds worth $ 220 million pass through Antwerp every day. No fewer than 1,700 diamond companies are active here, accounting for 32,600 jobs. Ethically, too, Antwerp and the Antwerp World Diamond Center (AWDC) - the diamond sector’s umbrella organisation - have made much headway in recent years. Below, you will find out why Antwerp is the world’s most reliable diamond centre.

What are conflict diamonds?

Until 2003, around 15% of the global diamond trade consisted of conflict diamonds, commonly referred to as blood diamonds. Especially African countries had a bad reputation.

Are there any conflict diamonds in circulation today?

Under the impetus of the United Nations and all countries concerned, the Kimberley procedure was developed. Since then, diamonds are accompanied by certificates to guarantee their purity. Diamonds are monitored from the time they are mined right up to their being cut and sold. The rough stones are sealed in 36 ways and acquire 3 different export certificates. Thanks to this approach, the proportion of conflict diamonds worldwide has dropped to a mere 0.2%.

How is the value of a diamond determined?

The quality and value of a cut diamond are determined by the four C's; Carat, Colour, Clarity and Cut. In Antwerp, the diamond sector has added another fifth C, namely Compliance.

Carat refers to the weight of the diamond. One carat equals 0.2 grammes. Nowhere else in the world are so many 1 or more-carat stones cut than in Antwerp. Simply because the craftsmanship and the master cutters reside in Antwerp.

Colour stands for the colour of the diamond. With the exception of Fancy Colors, colourless diamonds are the most valuable. Over 80% of cut diamonds have a yellowish tinge and are, therefore, less valuable.

Clarity or the purity of the diamond is determined by the number, size and location of inclusions or internal impurities and by external elements such as scratches. A pure diamond is a stone that shows no impurities under a magnifying glass that magnifies ten times.

Cut stands for grinding. The ideal proportions and level of finish are important. 'Cut in Antwerp' stands for a perfectly cut stone.

Compliance is the term that indicates that a person or organization operates in accordance with applicable laws and regulations. You can find more on the website of the Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC), Antwerp’s umbrella organisation of the diamond sector.

(c) Stad Antwerpen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

Dazzling Desires - copyright

Dazzling Desires

This exhibition at the MAS kicks off the Antwerp diamond year 'Antwerp Diamond Capital since 1447', giving a taste of what is yet to come.

Tasting diamonds - copyright Pat Verbruggen

Tasting diamonds

In response to 570 years of diamonds in Antwerp, an exclusive edition of the 'Antwerpse Handjes' will be issued and diamond pralines will be given a new look.

[object Object]

Avers, un centre diamantaire digne de foi

Depuis cinq siècles déjà, Anvers est le centre diamantaire le plus important et le plus fiable au monde. Chaque jour on voit passer ici l’équivalent de 220 millions de dollars en diamants. Pas moins de 1.700 entreprises du diamant sont actives ici, ce qui correspond à 32.600 emplois. Sur le plan éthique Anvers et l’Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC) - l’organisation qui chapeaute le secteur du diamant - ont pris bon nombre de mesures ces dernières années. Vous lirez ci-dessous pourquoi Anvers est le centre du diamant le plus fiable au monde. 

Qu’est-ce qu’un diamant conflictuel ?

Jusque 2003, quelque 15 pour cent du commerce diamantaire mondial se composaient de diamants conflictuels - que l’on qualifié aussi de pierres de sang. Des pays africains surtout possédaient une mauvaise réputation.

Y a-t-il aujourd’hui encore des diamants conflictuels en circulation ?

Sous l’impulsion des Nations Unies et de tous les pays concernés, la procédure Kimberley a été développée. Depuis, les diamants obtiennent un certificat afin de garantir leur provenance irréprochable. Le contrôle commence dès l’exploitation des pierres brutes et se poursuit jusqu’à leur taille et leur vente. Les pierres brutes sont scellées de 36 manières et reçoivent 3 certificats d’exportation différents. Du fait de cette approche les nombre des diamants de conflit dans le monde entier n’est plus que de 0,2 pour cent.

Comment fixe-t-on la valeur d’un diamant ?

La qualité et la valeur d’un diamant taillé sont fixées par les quatre C : carat, colour, clarity et cut. À Anvers le secteur du diamant y a encore ajouté un cinquième C : compliance.

Carat fait référence au poids du diamant. Un carat équivaut à 0,2 gramme. Nulle part ailleurs dans le monde autant de pierres d’un carat ou plus ne sont taillées qu’à Anvers. Tout simplement parce que le savoir-faire et les maîtres tailleurs se trouvent à Anvers.

Color réfère à la couleur du diamant. À l’exception des Fancy Colors, les diamants incolores sont les plus précieux. Plus de 80 pour cent des diamants taillés ont une couleur jaunâtre et valent donc moins.

Clarity, ou la pureté du diamant, est définie par la quantité, la taille et l’endroit des inclusions ou impuretés internes mais aussi par des éléments externes comme les griffes. Un diamant immaculé est une pierre qui ne présente pas d’impuretés sous une loupe avec un grossissement de dix.

Cut signifie taille. Les proportions idéales et le degré de finition sont très importants ici.  ‘Cut in Antwerp’ correspond à une pierre taillée de manière parfaite.

Compliance est le terme par lequel on indique qu’une personne ou une organisation travaille en conformité avec la législation et les réglementations en vigueur. Vous en apprendrez davantage sur le  site d'Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC). Il s’agit de l’organisation anversoise qui chapeaute le secteur du diamant

(c) Stad Antwerpen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

L’éclat du désir - copyright

L’éclat du désir

Cette exposition au MAS donne le coup d’envoi de l’année du diamant 'Antwerp Diamond Capital since 1447' à Anvers.

 

Le goût du diamant - copyright Pat Verbruggen

Le goût du diamant

Le 570e anniversaire ’Anvers Capitale du Diamant’ coïncide avec une édition exclusive des Petites Mains d’Anvers et un emballage spécial des pralines diamants.

[object Object]