Baroque Burez

The Antwerp photographer Athos Burez (b. 1987) will reveal his most Baroque side in the MAS’s walking boulevard. The exhibition highlights the beauty, the fantasy and “unheimlichkeit” or weirdness of his colourful visual language. Antwerp’s tallest museum will become a Baroque beacon for the city for one year, thanks to Burez’s works, which are displayed on the large light walls of the MAS.

A new take on Baroque style themes

In 2018, the MAS will welcome the young photographer-artist Athos Burez with a photo series about the Baroque. He has created 80 images and installations, which, when combined, highlight his refreshing, contemporary take on various genres from this style period, including still-lifes, portraits, landscapes and interiors. Burez’s work takes an almost surreal approach to familiar images, causing them to almost float between two worlds. Old Baroque elements are juxtaposed with the new, with the present, in this photo exhibition in the MAS, creating an entirely new and unique Baroque visual culture.

Walking boulevard

The exhibition will be held in the MAS’s walking boulevard. As you make your way up past the escalators, you can see Athos Burez’s unique Baroque interpretation of the city in the display cases and on the large light walls. Diptychs, triptychs and polyptychs fill the light walls, like beacons which you can recognise from afar.

The MAS will open its walking boulevard and panoramic terrace to everyone who wants to enjoy a picnic. Bring food and drink, find the perfect spot and spread out your picnic blanket. You can bring your own or borrow one from free from the information desk on the ground floor.

MAS | from 1 June 2018

Athos Burez

Contact

Hanzestedenplaats 1
Antwerpen

http://www.mas.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-06-01 Until: 2018-10-31
2 09:30 - 00:00
3 09:30 - 00:00
4 09:30 - 00:00
5 09:30 - 00:00
6 09:30 - 00:00
0 09:30 - 00:00

From: 2018-11-01 Until: 2019-04-21
2 09:30 - 22:00
3 09:30 - 22:00
4 09:30 - 22:00
5 09:30 - 22:00
6 09:30 - 22:00
0 09:30 - 22:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Baroque Burez

Le photographe anversois Athos Burez (°1987) dévoile au MAS sa face la plus baroque sur le boulevard de promenade du MAS dans son langage haut en couleurs, fantasque et d’une étrange beauté. En projetant les œuvres de Burez sur ses murs lumineux, le musée le plus vertical d’Anvers devient pour un an un haut lieu du baroque. Littéralement.

Des thèmes baroques revisités

Le MAS accueille en 2018 le jeune artiste photographe Athos Burez avec une série de photos sur le baroque. 80 images et installations offrent un regard contemporain sur les divers genres de l’époque stylistique : natures mortes, portraits, paysages et intérieurs. L’œuvre de Burez se caractérise par une vision presque surréaliste d’images familières qui semblent dès lors flotter entre deux mondes. Cette exposition de photos au MAS combine des éléments baroques et contemporains, donnant forme à une culture de l’image baroque entièrement nouvelle.

Le boulevard de promenade

L’interprétation baroque de la ville par Athos Burez se déroule dans le boulevard de promenade du MAS, sur les grands murs à chaque étage et – littéralement – dans les vitrines des escalators. Des diptyques, des triptyques et des polyptyques remplissent des parois lumineuses que l’on verra de loin.

Le MAS ouvre également ce boulevard et son panorama aux amateurs de pique-nique qui peuvent apporter leur propre nappe ou en emprunter une à l’accueil.

MAS | à partir du 1er juin 2018

Athos Burez

Contact

Hanzestedenplaats 1
Antwerpen

http://www.mas.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-06-01 Until: 2018-10-31
2 09:30 - 00:00
3 09:30 - 00:00
4 09:30 - 00:00
5 09:30 - 00:00
6 09:30 - 00:00
0 09:30 - 00:00

From: 2018-11-01 Until: 2019-04-21
2 09:30 - 22:00
3 09:30 - 22:00
4 09:30 - 22:00
5 09:30 - 22:00
6 09:30 - 22:00
0 09:30 - 22:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

Paul Kooiker | Untitled (Nude) - copyright FOMU | Paul Kooiker

Paul Kooiker | Untitled (Nude)

Pour Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires le photographe conceptuel Paul Kooiker se laisse inspirer par le baroque de Rubens et Rembrandt.

[object Object]