Affordable and wearable by POLIENNE

Paulien Riemis is the face behind POLIENNE, a personal style diary of everyday outfits, interior inspo and travel stories. Paulien has been living in the centre of Antwerp for several years now and likes to buy affordable and wearable stuff. She describes her style as comfy, feminine with a bit of tomboy thrown in for good measure. Want to shop her outfits? These are her favourite hotspots in Antwerp!

Ace & Tate

Nowadays prescription glasses no longer need to be the equivalent of a fashion death sentence. There are plenty of cool, and also affordable frames on offer these days. The Amsterdam-based eyeglass brand Ace & Tate, which has a shop in Steenhouwersvest, sells a wide range of trendy, qualitative frames at nice prices. Now you can change your look every day to match your outfit. A frame for every occasion! Do you have 20/20 vision? Don’t worry, they also sell cool sunglasses.

Steenhouwersvest 15

Bite Me by Barnini

After the huge success of the Barnini and Kaffeenini bagel bars, you can now pop into Bite Me by Barnini, a brand-new lunch bar near the theatre, which serves bagels, as well as avocado salads, healthy falafel bowls and some dreamy pies. You can also put together a salad with the available ingredients every day. Like the other two places, the third Nini bar has the same typical vintage interior, making it a very popular spot with Instagram queens. It’s my favourite place to stop for a coffee while shopping in Meir.

Oudevaartplaats 38

Buchbar

In recent years, coffee bars are shooting up literally everywhere in Antwerp so offering something unique can be quite difficult. Buchbar’s concept, however, stands out from the pack. This cosy bar for book and coffee lovers is located between Nationalestraat and Marnixplaats. Their lovingly curated book selection has been installed in the centre of the bar, tempting you to stop and browse after your cappuccino. Besides books, Buchbar also sells some cool minimalist stationary, pretty pencils and coffee cups! The perfect place to unwind or shop for a nice gift.

Scheldestraat 79

Butcher’s Coffee

Off the beaten track, it’s true, but definitely worth the walk. Butcher’s coffee serves a copious breakfast, proper coffee and is one of the friendliest places in town. You may feel as if you’ve known the baristas at Butcher’s Coffee for years, when they serve you a huge portion of buttermilk pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Another fave is the Butcher’s Breaky, or toasted sourdough bread with avocado, poached eggs and courgette. Now what about that name? This used to be a butcher’s, and they have retained plenty of the old shop’s features in their interior.

Kasteelstraat 57

Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips has undergone a radical style transformation after moving to its new industrial location in Kammenstraat. Remember the loud graffiti and ditto music, and the in-your-face skeletons of the window display? Nowadays, this is the place to go for an adult, urban style. Skaters have hit up this place for several years, to shop for their favourite skate brands, like Carhartt, Dickies and Obey but streetwear also like to browse the shelves for their Adidas, Cheap Monday and Nudie Jeans fix. The best thing about Fish & Chips? The huge sneaker wall at the back of the shop, of course!

Kammenstraat 18-22

Love Stories

The Dutch lingerie label Love Stories is famous for its colourful sets, with bright prints, which you can mix and match to your liking. At Love Stories you don’t have to pick a particular style, but you can pair romantic bras with more sporty briefs. They recently traded in their first Antwerp shop, or should I say boudoir, for a larger lingerie paradise in Lombardenvest. Their contemporary collection looks just right in the new warmer, luxurious setting. A great place to find PJs, bathrobes, and fun bedroom accessories!   

Lombardenvest 34

Mark

Read, cycle & cherish: combine a bike shop, a book shop and an interior shop and the result is Mark. Three of Antwerp’s leading stores, Fietsen De Geus, ‘t Stad Leest and Wunderkammer moved into one space in Kleine Markt. There is so much to see and experience here that you can spend hours browsing. Fortunately they also have a kid’s and men’s section. Need gadgets, photo books, postcard, bike accessories or a candle with a nice scent? Look no further, Mark has all this and more!

Kleine Markt 14

Monki

After having to shop online or worse yet, hop on a plane or train to find a Monki store, H&M’s pretty little sister has finally found herself a pied-à-terre in Belgium. Antwerp has the world’s largest Monki store with a pink crystal staircase, rainbow-coloured mirrors and even a roundabout. The collection is very similar in style, offering fun designs, striking fabrics and the brightest colours you’ve ever seen. While Monki targets younger customers, I definitely recommend checking out a Monki store. You may want to bring your sunnies though.

Meir 73

Sissy Boy

If you like an eclectic and lavish interior, Sissy Boy is the place to shop for some elegant gold cutlery, floor lights in the shape of a palm tree and soft, velvet armchairs. The more, the merrier! Besides interior decoration, the Dutch concept store also sells clothes for women, men and children, the prettiest bathroom soaps and a unique range of stationery. Take your time to browse this store to find the perfect accessory for your home or wardrobe. PS: Sissy Boy has the best Christmas decs every year!

Nationalestraat 36

& Other Stories

The Swedish brand & Other Stories is celebrating the fourth anniversary of its opening in Antwerp and has become a stylish fixture on our shopping streets. Based in one of the most beautiful shops in Wilde Zee, & Other Stores sells clothes, shoes, handbags, jewellery, lingerie and beauty products, in other words all the ingredients for a head to toe transformation. The brand regularly launches guest collabs with celebrities, other brands and fashion icons, such as Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon, the shoe brand Toms and the model and actress Lou Doillon.

Korte Gasthuisstraat 17

POLIENNE - a personal style diary by Paulien Riemis

Floor Knuyt

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

100% Belgian by Monica Ho - copyright Monica Ho

100% Belgian by Monica Ho

Monica Ho shares her list of favourite Antwerp hotspots with shopping addicts.

[object Object]

Des bonnes affaires by POLIENNE

Paulien Riemis c’est le nom derrière POLIENNE, un journal personnel dédié à la mode de tous les jours, à la décoration intérieure et aux récits de voyage. Paulien vit depuis des années en plein centre d’Anvers et est toujours à l’affût des bonnes affaires. Elle décrit elle-même son style comme féminin, avec un rien du garçon manqué, et toujours dans le souci du confort. Elle partage avec vous ses meilleures adresses à Anvers. On y va ?

Ace & Tate

Devoir porter des lunettes n’est plus une malédiction depuis longtemps, car la gamme des montures est illimitée et et les prix tout à fait raisonnables. Vous trouverez dans la boutique de la marque d’Amsterdam Ace & Tate au Steenhouwersvest un impressionnant éventail de montures mode de qualité vous permettant de changer chaque jour de look. Une paire pour chaque occasion en quelque sorte. Entrez même si vous avez une très bonne vue ; vous y trouverez de quoi élargir votre collection de lunettes de soleil !

Steenhouwersvest 15

Bite Me by Barnini

Après l’énorme succès des bars à bagels Barnini et Kaffeenini, voici maintenant Bite Me by Barnini, un tout nouveau snack au Stadsschouwburg qui outre les bagels propose des salades à l’avocat, des bols de falafels santé et des desserts à vous mettre l’eau à la bouche. Vous pouvez composer votre propre salade. On y retrouve l’intérieur résolument vintage de la ‘marque’ Nini, très photogénique sur Instagram. Mon adresse préférée pour un café entre deux courses sur le Meir.

Oudevaartplaats 38

Buchbar

Les coffee bars poussent comme des champignons à Anvers. Chaque nouveau venu doit donc redoubler d’imagination pour se démarquer du reste. Buchbar y est parvenu avec son concept original : les amateurs de bon café et de livres auront tout de suite adopté cette adresse entre la Nationalestraat et la Marnixplaats. Les livres soigneusement sélectionnés se trouvent au centre de café et vous invitent à les feuilleter entre deux gorgées de cappuccino. Vous y trouverez aussi des articles de papeterie, de beaux crayons et même des tasses à café ! Le lieu idéal donc pour combiner un moment de repos et l’achat de cadeaux originaux.

Scheldestraat 79

Butcher’s Coffee

Un snack situé un peu hors des sentiers battus, mais qui vaut certainement la peine de faire le détour : Butcher’s Coffee. Des petits déjeuners copieux, un excellent café et de la gentillesse à revendre. Vous aurez l’impression d’avoir toujours connu les gérants de Butcher’s Coffee lorsqu’ils viennent vous apporter une énorme portion de buttermilk pancakes au lard et au sirop d’érable. Je vous recommande aussi le Butcher’s Breaky, un toast de pain au levain garni d’avocat, d’un œuf poché et de courgettes. L’endroit doit son nom à l’ancienne boucherie établie ici, et largement mise en valeur par la décoration intérieure.

Kasteelstraat 57

Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips a subi une véritable métamorphose avec son nouveau look industriel. La boutique de la Kammenstraat autrefois connue pour ses immenses graffiti, son haut degré de décibels et ses squelettes grimaçants en vitrine a adopté un style urbain plus mature. Les skaters viennent ici toujours s’approvisionner en accessoires des marques Carhartt, Dickies et Obey, mais les fans de street wear y trouveront aussi leurs marques préférées : Adidas, Cheap Monday, Nudie Jeans... Impossible de passer à côté du gigantesque mur de sneakers à l’arrière de la boutique !

Kammenstraat 18-22

Love Stories

La marque de lingerie néerlandaise Love Stories est connue pour ses combinés aux couleurs vives à appareiller ou dépareiller au gré de votre humeur et sans vous limiter à un style. Car rien de vous empêcher de combiner des pièces romantiques et sportives. La première petite boutique Love Stories à Anvers aux allures de boudoir sensuel a été récemment remplacée par un grand paradis de la lingerie au Lombardenvest. Sa collection qui n’a rien de classique est parfaitement mise en valeur dans un cadre chaud et luxueux. Egalement à conseiller pour les pyjamas, les sorties de bains et les beaux accessoires pour la chambre à coucher !

Lombardenvest 34

Mark

Read, cycle & cherish : rassemblez un réparateur de vélos, une librairie et une boutique de décoration intérieure et vous obtenez Mark. Trois ‘marques’ anversoises de renom - Fietsen De Geus, Stad Leest et Wunderkammer - font cause commune au Kleine Markt. Il y a tant à voir que vous risquez d’oublier le temps, mais pas de risque que les enfants vous tirent par la manche vers la sortie, car eux aussi y trouveront toutes sortes d’articles chez Mark : gadgets, albums de photo, accessoires de cyclistes, bougies…

Kleine Markt 14

Monki

Après avoir longtemps dû commander en ligne ou acheter les articles Monki à l’étranger, la petite sœur rebelle de H&M est enfin arrivée en Belgique. Vous trouverez sur le Meir la plus grande surface de vente Monki au monde, avec escalier de cristal rose, miroirs aux couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel et même un manège. La collection est dans le même esprit : designs nouveaux, matériaux audacieux et couleurs acidulées. Monki vise clairement une clientèle jeune, ce qui ne devrait empêcher aucune femme à entrer, si ce n’est que pas curiosité ! Prévoyez peut-être une paire de lunettes de soleil…

Meir 73

Sissy Boy

Vous êtes à la bonne adresse si vous appréciez les intérieurs éclectiques et la grandeur. Couverts dorés, lampadaires en forme de palmier, sièges profonds en velours… Toutes les fantaisies sont permises ! Le concept store néerlandais n’est pas dédié à la décoration intérieure. Il propose aussi des vêtements pour femmes, pour hommes et pour enfants, de beaux savons pour votre salle de bains, et une gamme unique d’articles de papeterie. Immergez-vous dans l’esprit de ce store avant de trouver l’accessoire parfait pour votre intérieur ou votre garde-robe. Et sachez que Sissy Boy a chaque année les plus belles décorations de Noël !

Nationalestraat 36

& Other Stories

La marque suédoise & Other Stories fête l’année prochaine sa quatrième année à Anvers, ce qui surprendra peut-être les habitués de la Kleine Gasthuistraat qui croiront l’avoir toujours vue dans cette rue commerçante. Dans une des belles maisons du quartier Wilde Zee, & Other Stories propose un concept total pour femmes combinant mode, chaussures, sacs à main, bijoux, lingerie et produits de beauté. La marque collabore régulièrement avec des célébrités, des griffes ou des icônes de la mode comme la chanteuse de Sonic Youth Kim Gordon, la marque de chaussures Toms et la top-modèle et actrice Lou Doillon.

Korte Gasthuisstraat 17

POLIENNE - a personal style diary by Paulien Riemis

Floor Knuyt

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

100% belge by Monica Ho - copyright Monica Ho

100% belge by Monica Ho

Monica Ho partage ses meilleures adresses anversoises.

[object Object]