Dressed by Antwerp

The fashion programme of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of Antwerp is one of the most influential in its kind in the world. For several decades, graduates have been appointed to key positions in various Belgian and international fashion houses. The city is proud of this reputation, which is why it wishes to promote this fashion scene.

[VIDEO]

The campaign

The Dressed by Antwerp campaign illustrates the international influence of Antwerp’s fashion scene. (Inter)national fans of Antwerp fashion pose in the designs of three Master students, namely Shuting Qiu, Nick Haemels and Julia Ballardt.

The campaign will initially run in airports and international train stations.

In the run-up to the annual catwalk show of the Fashion Department of Antwerp’s Royal Academy of Fine Arts in early June 2019, the campaign will also appear on Antwerp’s streets.

The models

Elodie Ouedraogo, a former athlete/Olympian and designer (42I54) and Tom Smith, the singer of the the British rock band Editors, have posed for the campaign. They both have a soft spot for Antwerp fashion.

“In Belgium, people often underestimate how important our country is on the international fashion scene. The Antwerp Fashion Academy has produced such a lot of talent. Several major fashion houses have hired designers, who graduated from our Academy”, says Elodie.

Tom Smith doesn’t think he’s a fashion expert. He has worn designs by Dries Van Noten in the past, and has visited his shop and workshops in Antwerp, with his band. “I admire the fact that the city wants to promote its fashion scene. And it matches my idea of the city. It has a special vibe. Here they embrace less obvious, avant-garde ideas in the arts.”

The designers

Shuting Qiu studied fashion in China, but her fascination for the Antwerp Six brought her to Antwerp. “It was my dream to be able to study at the Fashion Academy where the designers I look up to also studied. The Antwerp fashion aesthetic is unique and different.”

Nick Haemels was born and raised in Antwerp. “Antwerp is not London or Paris, which is precisely what makes it so interesting. In a sense, Antwerp is an outsider. You have more freedom to develop as a designer. And it pays off, if you look at where the designers, who graduate from the Academy, end up.”

After attending a catwalk show of the Fashion Department, Julia Ballardt, who hails from Germany, was convinced. “I was hellbent on studying at the Antwerp Academy. I wanted to learn from the best, from designers whom I admired for their work and guts. I love the amazing energy you feel here.”

Find out more about Antwerp fashion.

Zeb Daemen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Dressed by Antwerp

La formation de styliste de mode de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers est une des plus influentes au monde. Depuis des décennies, ses diplômés tracent leur voie dans des maisons de mode belges et étrangères. La ville est fière de cette réputation et souhaite donc braquer les projecteurs sur la mode anversoise.

[VIDEO]

La campagne

La campagne Dressed by Antwerp témoigne du rayonnement mondial de la scène anversoise en matière de mode. Des fans belges et étrangers de la mode anversoise posent dans des créations des étudiants en master Shuting Qiu, Nick Haemels et Julia Ballardt.

La campagne sera révélée en premier lieu dans les aéroports et les gares internationales, puis partout à Anvers dans la perspective du show annuel de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers – section mode début juin 2019.

Les mannequins

L’ex-athlète olympique et créatrice Ex- (42I54) Elodie Ouedraogo et le leader du groupe rock britannique Editors Tom Smith posent avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme pour la campagne. L’un et l’autre sont fans de la mode anversoise.

“On sous-estime ici souvent la portée de notre pays sur la scène internationale de la mode. L’Académie de la mode d’Anvers a produit tant de talents, tant de grandes maisons ont dans leurs rangs des stylistes de notre Académie”, constate Elodie.

Tom Smith ne se considère pas comme un expert en matière de mode mais a déjà porté dans sa vie quantité de créations de Dries Van Noten et visité avec ses musiciens la boutique et l’atelier du grand styliste à Anvers. “J’applaudis la décision de la ville de mettre ses stylistes sur le devant de la scène. C’est d’ailleurs tout à fait en ligne avec l’image que je me suis fait de la cité scaldienne. Il y a ici des vibes très particulières car on y accueille à bras ouverts des idées d’avant-garde en matière artistique.”

Les stylistes

Shuting Qiu a entamé ses études de mode en Chine mais sa fascination pour les Six d’Anvers l’a rapidement amenée ici. “C’était mon grand rêve d’étudier à l’Académie Royale d’Anvers, sur les traces de mes grands modèles. L’esthétique de la mode anversoise est absolument unique.”

Nick Haemels est un Anversois pur-sang. “Anvers n’est pas Londres ou Paris et c’est ce qui la rend si intéressante. Anvers est en fait un outsider. Vous pouvez y développer plus librement votre talent de styliste. Et le résultat est là : bon nombre de stylistes diplômés d’Anvers se positionnent sur la scène internationale.”

L’Allemande Julia Ballardt a été conquise après avoir assisté à un show de l’Académie de la mode : “Je voulais absolument étudier à l’Académie d’Anvers. Je voulais me former auprès des meilleurs, des stylistes que j’admirais pour leur travail et leur audace. J’adore l’énergie qui règne ici.”

En savoir plus sur la mode anvers.

Zeb Daemen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]