Jan Fabre

Jan Fabre has created three new altarpieces for St. Augustine’s Church. He was inspired by the original paintings by Rubens, Jordaens and van Dyck. The former Augustinian church has since been transformed into the AMUZ convention and music centre.

The Antwerp 3

In 1628, the Augustinian order commissioned altarpieces for their abbey church in Kammenstraat from three of Antwerp’s most famous baroque painters. Peter Paul Rubens painted the canvas for the main altar, while Jacob Jordaens and Sir Anthony van Dyck painted works for the altars dedicated to St. Apollonia and St. Augustine, in the north and south transepts. The three works are now part of the permanent collection of the Royal Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp and can no longer be seen in the church. On the occasion of “Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires”, Jan Fabre was asked to create new, permanent works for St. Augustine’s Church, in accordance with the historical tradition of ecclesiastical commissions.

Jan Fabre

Fabre explores the visual language of the Baroque in his interpretation of the altarpieces but also took AMUZ’s three current functions into account: as a concert hall, a convention and business centre and a recording studio. He has transposed the altarpieces of Jordaens, van Dyck and Rubens into the language of 2018, creating “The monastic performance”, “The mystical contract” and “The ecstatic recording”. The key elements of Fabre’s work converge in these works: the lamb, the fire, woman, spirituality and diamonds, which symbolise his love of Antwerp.

Jewel beetle

Fabre chose to use the shields of the jewel beetle as a material for his alternative interpretations. He has already previously used this technique in the Hall of Mirrors of the Royal Palace in Brussels, where he transformed the ceiling into a Heaven of Delight. The pictorial effect of the shields of the jewel beetle strikes a balance between a mosaic and classic oils. The intensity of each shield is different because of the way the light reflects on them, causing a transformation of the image, depending on how the light falls.

Collage drawings

The altarpieces were created based on several different collage drawings by Fabre. These drawings are also exhibited in Antwerp, from 6 July until 4 November at the Rossaert art gallery in Nosestraat. The free exhibition is open every Friday and Saturday from 1 p.m. until 6 p.m.

AMUZ | from 03.07.2018

Angelos Bvba | foto Stephan Vanfleteren

Contact

Kammenstraat 81
Antwerpen
+32 32 02 46 69
http://www.amuz.be
info@amuz.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-07-03 Until: 2018-08-09
1 14:00 - 20:00
2 14:00 - 17:00
3 14:00 - 17:00
4 14:00 - 17:00
5 14:00 - 17:00

From: 2018-09-03 Until: 2018-12-10
1 14:00 - 20:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Jan Fabre

Jan Fabre est l’auteur des trois nouveaux retables pour l’église Saint-Augustin. Dans ce cadre, il s’est inspiré des peintures originales de Rubens, Jordaens et Van Dyck. Aujourd'hui, l’ancienne église Saint-Augustin est devenue AMUZ, un centre de rencontre et de musique.

Les trois d’Anvers

C’est en 1628 que les trois plus grands peintres baroques anversois se voient charger par l’Ordre de Saint-Augustin de réaliser des retables pour leur prieuré situé à la Kammenstraat. Pierre Paul Rubens peint à cette occasion, la toile du maître-autel, Jacob Jordaens et Antoine Van Dyck enjolivent quant à eux, les autels Apolline et Augustin situés dans les nefs latérales droite et gauche. Ces trois œuvres ne sont plus dans l’église mais font aujourd'hui partie de la collection permanente du Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten van Antwerpen (Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers). À l’occasion de l’événement « Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires », Jan Fabre s’est vu confier selon la tradition historique des missions d’église, la création de nouvelles œuvres permanentes pour l’église Saint-Augustin.

Jan Fabre

Dans son interprétation des retables, Jan Fabre explore non seulement l’iconographie baroque mais part également des trois fonctions que remplit actuellement AMUZ : celles de salle de concert, de centre de rencontre/de réception et de studio d’enregistrement. Avec respectivement « Het monastieke optreden » (La performance monastique), « Het mystieke contract » (Le contrat mystique) et « De extatische opname » (L’enregistrement extatique), il transpose les retables de Jordaens, Van Dyck et Rubens dans le langage de 2018. Ces œuvres comprennent les éléments clés de la poétique de Fabre comme l’agneau, le feu, la femme, la spiritualité et le diamant, symbole de son amour pour la ville d’Anvers.

Scarabée

Jan Fabre utilise les élytres du scarabée bijou comme matériel pour donner forme à ses interprétations alternatives. Il a déjà utilisé cette technique dans la Salle des Glaces du Palais royal de Bruxelles, dont il a transformé le plafond en « Jardin des Délices » (2002). L’effet pictural du matériau des élytres du scarabée instaure un équilibre entre la mosaïque et la peinture à l’huile classique. Ces élytres reflètent une intensité entièrement nouvelle sous l’effet de la lumière. Cela permet à l'artiste de métamorphoser littéralement sa peinture sous l’effet des variations d’éclairage.

Collages-dessins

Les retables trouvent leur origine dans une suite de différents collages-dessins de Jan Fabre. Ces dessins peuvent également être admirés à Anvers. Cette exposition se tient du 6 juillet au 4 novembre dans la galerie Rossaert situé à la Nosestraat. Elle est accessible gratuitement tous les vendredis et samedis de 13 h à 18 h.

AMUZ | à partir du 03.07.2018

Angelos Bvba | foto Stephan Vanfleteren

Contact

Kammenstraat 81
Antwerpen
+32 32 02 46 69
http://www.amuz.be
info@amuz.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-09-03 Until: 2018-12-10
1 14:00 - 20:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]