Michaelina. Baroque’s Leading Lady

“Michaelina” showcases the extraordinary talent of an artist who became very successful at a time when female artists were the exception rather than the rule. Michaelina was a contemporary of Rubens. She set herself apart from other female artists at the time because of the genres she chose to specialise in. From 1 June 2018, the MAS will host an exhibition of the work of this leading lady of the Baroque.

Mysterious Michaelina

We actually know very little about Michaelina Wautier (1604-1689). Her life is virtually undocumented. Born in Mons, the artist moved to Brussels in 1640 with her younger brother, the painter Charles Wautier. Neither of them married, and they lived together in a stately town house near the church of Notre-Dame de la Chapelle.

A bold palette

Wautier distinguished herself from her female colleagues because of the wide range of genres she chose to specialise in. In addition to portraits and scenes from daily life, she produced large-scale history paintings – something that even many male artists considered a daunting undertaking. To date, twenty-six of her works have been identified, testifying to her provocative themes and superior pictorial technique. She effortlessly depicted both religious themes and mythological scenes. Michaelina Wautier mastered all the contemporary genres, on both a large and a small scale, making her a unique and also extremely versatile artist.

But her real masterpiece undoubtedly is “The Triumph of Bacchus” (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna). This large-scale work demonstrates her candid knowledge of the male anatomy. At the same time, the artist also chose to portray herself as the bare-breasted maenad, who also happens to be the only figure that looks the viewer squarely in the eye.

Rising star

Michaelina’s body of work is still being pieced together.  The artist is a rising star on the art market, where her work fetches remarkably high prices nowadays. “Michaelina” is the first retrospective of the work of this Baroque artist.

The Rubens House currently visiting the MAS | 01.06.2018 - 02.09.2018

The Klesh Collection

Contact

Hanzestedenplaats 1
Antwerpen
+32 33 38 44 00
http://www.mas.be
mas@stad.antwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-06-01 Until: 2018-09-02
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 18:00
0 10:00 - 18:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 10

Free for holders of the Baroque Festival Card.

Reduction rates

> 65: 8.

12 - 25: 8.

< 12: 0.

People with a handicap: 8.

Attendants of people with a handicap: 0.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Minimum people per group.

Maximum people per group.

Price per person: €

Price per group: €

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Michaelina

L’exposition Michaelina apporte la démonstration de l’exceptionnel talent d’une artiste reconnue à une époque où les femmes l’étaient rarement. Michaelina était une contemporaine de Rubens. Elle se distingue des autres femmes artistes de la même période par les genres picturaux qu’elle pratique. Le MAS reçoit cette grande figure du baroque à partir du 1er juin 2018.

Mystérieuse Michaelina

On sait très peu de choses à propos de Michaelina Wautier (1614-1689) car sa vie est à peine documentée. Cette artiste originaire de Mons s’établit peu après 1640 à Bruxelles avec son frère aîné, le peintre Charles Wautier. Les deux célibataires occupent une belle maison de maître à proximité de l’église Notre-Dame-de-la-Chapelle.

Une palette audacieuse

Michaelina Wautier se distingue des autres femmes artistes par la diversité des thèmes qu’elle traite. Non contente de peindre des portraits et des pièces de genre, elle s’ose aux pièces historiques en grand format, un défi devant lequel recul même des peintres du sexe fort. On connaît vingt-six toiles de sa main, toutes remarquables pour leur thème audacieux et leur excellente technique picturale. Elle traite avec la même aisance les thèmes religieux et les scènes mythologiques. Elle maîtrise tous les genres de son époque, en petit comme et grand format. Michaelina Wautier est une artiste unique par la diversité de ses talents.

Son chef d’œuvre est sans conteste le Cortège de Bacchus/Triomphe de Bacchus (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienne). Elle démontre avec cette très grande toile qu’elle connaît bien l’anatomie masculine. Wautier s’y dépeint elle-même en ménade légèrement vêtue qui regarde le spectateur droit dans les yeux.

Une étoile montante

L’œuvre de Michaelina est actuellement redécouverte. L’artiste est une étoile montante sur le marché de l’art, où ses toiles atteignent des prix étonnamment élevés. Michaelina est la première rétrospective de cette artistique baroque.

La Maison Rubens hôte du MAS | 01.06.2018 - 02.09.2018

 

Michaelina Wautier, particuliere collectie

Contact

Hanzestedenplaats 1
Antwerpen
+32 33 38 44 00
http://www.mas.be
mas@stad.antwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 10

Gratuit pour les détenteurs d’une Baroque Festival Card.

Accessibilité

Reduction rates

> 65: 8.

12 - 25: 8.

< 12: 0.

: 8.

: 0.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Minimum people per group.

Maximum people per group.

Price per person: €

Price per group: €

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

Experience Traps - copyright 2014 Getty Images.Courtesy and copyright Bertrand Lavier - photo Bruno Voidey

Experience Traps

Le Musée Middelheim invite des artistes contemporains internationaux à s’approprier les éléments typiques du baroque comme la grotte, la fontaine et le trompe-l'œil.

Sanguine | Bloedrood. Luc Tuymans on Baroque - copyright Edward Kienholz - Five Car Stud,photo Delfino Sisto Legnani Studio.Courtesy Fondazione Prada,Milano

Sanguine | Bloedrood. Luc Tuymans on Baroque

Dans l’exposition Sanguine | Bloedrood, les maîtres du baroque entrent en confrontation avec de grands artistes contemporains.

Paul Kooiker. Studio - copyright FOMU | Paul Kooiker

Paul Kooiker. Studio

Pour Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires le photographe conceptuel Paul Kooiker se laisse inspirer par le baroque de Rubens et Rembrandt.

Baroque Burez - copyright Athos Burez

Baroque Burez

Le photographe anversois Athos Burez dévoile au MAS sa face la plus baroque.

Sur les traces de Rubens - copyright Dave Van Laere

Sur les traces de Rubens

Anvers compte cinq églises monumentales où le baroque est bien vivant.

[object Object]