The story of Nello & Patrasche

The story of the young boy Nello and his dog Patrasche is famous all over the world and it's set… in Antwerp! During the Christmas period the duo will play a prominent role in the city. Discover where you can meet them here.

The story of Nello and Patrasche

Nello and Patrasche are the main characters in the 1872 novel A Dog of Flanders. The story takes place in Hoboken and Antwerp. The Cathedral of Our Lady and various paintings by Rubens play an important role in the novel.

Nello, a poor orphan boy, becomes friends with Patrasche, an abandoned cart dog. They walk to town together every day. They often visit the cathedral, where Nello admires the paintings by Rubens. Due to a series of setbacks, the lives of Nello and Patrasche end in that same cathedral. They die together from hardship.
This moving and atypical Christmas story holds a message of pride and unconditional friendship. The story is very famous in Japan. 

New statue at the cathedral

Artist Batist Vermeulen (‘Tist’) designed a statue of the boy and his dog. You can admire the new statue on the Handschoenmarkt, in front of the cathedral. 

Batist Vermeulen | by Tist

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

L'Histoire de Nello et Patrasche

La célèbre histoire du jeune garçon Nello et de son chien Patrasche se déroule à … Anvers! Le duo joue un rôle de premier plan dans la cité scaldéenne pendant la période de Noël. Voici où vous pouvez le rencontrer.

L’histoire de Nello et Patrasche

Nello et Patrache sont les personnages principaux du roman anglais ‘A Dog of Flanders’ de 1872. L’histoire se passe à Hoboken et Anvers, avec en toile de fond la cathédrale Notre-Dame et les peintures de Rubens.

Nello, un jeune orphelin, se lie d’amitié avec Patrache, un chien abandonné. Ils se rendent chaque jour en ville. Ils prennent plaisir à entrer dans la cathédrale pour admirer les toiles de Rubens. Suite à toute une série de déconvenues, Nello et Patrache perdent la vie dans la cathédrale qu’ils aiment tant. Ils meurent de faim et de froid, côte à côte.
Ce conte de Noël, émouvant et atypique, délivre un message d’orgueil et d’amitié indéfectible. L’histoire est très connue au Japon. 

Nouvelle statue près de la cathédrale

L’artiste Batist Vermeulen (‘Tist’) a donné forme au jeune garçon et son chien. La nouvelle statue se trouve au Handschoenmarkt, à deux pas de la cathédrale. 

Batist Vermeulen | by Tist

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]