Red Star Line Museum

Between 1873 and 1935, Antwerp was the gateway to a better life for more than two million people. Red Star Line brought them from Antwerp to New York. The museum brings you their story.

Atypical collection

The Red Star Line Museum does not have a typical museum collection. Do not expect endless rows of glass cabinets full of 19th-century trinkets or ship’s parts. No, the Red Star Line Museum has a very unusual collection. Above all, it collects and archives stories. Audiovisual testimonies and written documents. The museum is still looking for stories from the period between 1873 and 1935.
 
Of course, you will also find art in its more traditional form. For example, the Red Star Line and Antwerp, as a migration hub, inspired artists like Eugeen Van Mieghem and Louis van Engelen.
 
What makes this museum even more special is the fact that it adopts a very modern approach in the original Red Star Line buildings. The port warehouses that were used for passengers’ administrative and medical checks are the very highlight of the collection.

More than a museum

The Red Star Line Museum is not just a museum. The observation tower that rises above the warehouses, in the shape of a ship's smokestack, affords an amazing panoramic view. And you can visit The Shed, a cozy café and nice museum shop, up to an hour after the museum closes.
 
Be touched by the testimonies of people who have boarded the Red Star Line - for pleasure, for business or in the hope to find a better life - and enjoy a unique view of the Scheldt and the centre of Antwerp. And sit down and talk about it afterwards in The Shed.

After a visit to the Red Star Line Museum, it is definitely worth walking through the trendy Eilandje and enjoy a meal at one of the many restaurants located nearby. From Eilandje, you can also see the Port House, famously designed by the world-renowned architect Zaha Hadid Architects.

Elvire Van Ooteghem

Contact

Montevideostraat 3
Antwerpen
+32 32 98 27 70
http://www.redstarline.be
rsl_balie@stad.antwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 8

Reduction rates

> 65: 6.

26 - 65: 8.

12 - 25: 6.

< 12: 0.

: 0.

: 0.

: 0.

: 0.

: 0.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Minimum people per group.

Maximum people per group.

Price per person: €6

Price per group: €

Schools

Group visits cannot be planned and tickets cannot be reserved in advance for the last Wednesday of the month (free entry).

Prices

Others also viewed

Rubens House - copyright Rubens House

Rubens House

Museum Plantin-Moretus - copyright Victoriano Moreno

Museum Plantin-Moretus

The history of the book printing industry comes to life in the house and studio of the Plantin-Moretus printing family.

Eugeen Van Mieghem Museum - copyright Eugeen Van Mieghem Museum

Eugeen Van Mieghem Museum

Eugeen Van Mieghem (1875-1930) was a draughtsman and depicted people in the port; using various techniques he captured their lives and characters. On display in the museum are 150 of his works, as well as works by other by Antwerp artists. Visitors will gain an excellent insight into the world of this very introverted artist, whose work is once again in the spotlight in Belgium and abroad.

[object Object]

Red Star Line

Entre 1873 et 1935 Anvers fut pour plus de deux millions de gens la porte ouvrant sur une vie meilleure. La  Red Star Line les transporta d’Anvers à New York. Le musée narre le récit de ces gens.

[VIDEO]

Une collection atypique

Ne cherchez pas au Musée Red Star Line une collection muséale typique. Ne vous attendez pas à des rangées infinies de vitrines regorgeant de bibelots puisés parmi les pièces de navires du dix-neuvième siècle. Non, le Musée Red Star Line possède une collection des plus atypiques. Il rassemble et organise surtout des récits. Des témoignages audiovisuels et des documents écrits. Même aujourd’hui encore, le musée est en quête de récits de la période de 1873 à 1935.

Bien sûr vous y découvrirez des œuvres d’art de conception classique. Ainsi la Red Star Line et Anvers, en tant que laboratoires de la migration, furent sources d’inspiration pour des artistes comme Eugeen Van Mieghem et Louis van Engelen.

Ce qui rend ce musée encore plus hors du commun,c’est le fait qu’il se bâtit autour d’une approche très moderne à l’intérieur du bâtiment originel de la Red Star Line.  Les pilotes portuaires qui s’occupaient des contrôles administratifs et médicaux constituent les moments forts de la collection.

Plus qu’un simple musée

Le Musée Red Star Line ne se contente pas d’être un simple musée. La tour de guet qui surplombe les hangars, aux formes d’une cheminée de navire, offre une vue panoramique impressionnante. Et dans De Loods, un chaleureux café et une boutique de musée agréable, vous pourrez vous prélasser jusqu’à une heure après la fermeture du musée.

Laissez-vous subjuguer par les témoignages d’hommes et de femmes qui ont embarqué pour une traversée avec la Red Star Line - pour leurs loisirs, pour des affaires, où en quête d’une existence meilleure - et profitez d’une vue magnifique sur l’Escaut et sur le centre de la ville d’Anvers. Pour en suite en papoter dans De Loods..

Après une visite au Musée Red Star Line il vaut assurément la peine de flâner le long de l’Eilandje branché et d’y déguster un repas délicieux dans l’un des nombreux restaurants qui s’y trouvent.A partir de l’Eilandje vous verrez aussi la Capitainerie. Cette création monumentale est de la main du bureau des architectes mondialement connu Zaha Hadid Architects.

 

Dave Van Laere

Contact

Montevideostraat 3
Antwerpen
+32 32 98 27 70
http://www.redstarline.be
rsl_balie@antwerpen.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-11-01 Until: 2019-03-31
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 17:00
0 10:00 - 17:00

From: NaN-NaN-NaN Until: ...
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 18:00
0 10:00 - 18:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 8

Reduction rates

12 - 25: 6.

< 12: 0.

> 65: 6.

Card holders

City Card: true.

Groups

Prices

Minimum people per group.

Maximum people per group.

Price per person: € 6

Price per group: €

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

Musée Plantin-Moretus - copyright Victoriano Moreno

Musée Plantin-Moretus

Dans la maison de maître et atelier de la famille d'imprimeurs Plantin-Moretus, l'histoire de l'imprimerie prend vie. 

Musée Eugeen Van Mieghem - copyright Eugeen Van Mieghem Museum

Musée Eugeen Van Mieghem

Ce musée expose quelque 150 œuvres du peintre et dessinateur anversois Eugeen Van Mieghem (1875-1930), surtout connu pour son œuvre engagée et entièrement consacrée aux plus humbles dans la vie du grand port. À travers les œuvres exposées, les documents d’archives de l’artiste et des photos anciennes de son atelier, le visiteur est plongé dans l’univers d’un artiste humaniste qui suscite aujourd’hui un grand intérêt même à l’étranger

Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers - copyright Dave Van Laere

Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers

Le Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers a fermé ses portes pour des travaux de rénovation.  Date de réouverture encore à déterminer.   On ne peut donc visiter le bâtiment muséal situé dans le quartier Sud d'Anvers. Mais la collection du musée reste proche et accessible. Ainsi, on peut encore admirer les œuvres les plus importantes dans divers lieux d’accueil dans et autour d’Anvers.

M HKA | Musée d’ Art Contemporain d’Anvers - copyright M HKA

M HKA | Musée d’ Art Contemporain d’Anvers

Le Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen (M HKA) est un musée consacré à l’art figuratif, au cinéma et à la culture de l’image contemporains.

[object Object]