Roots seekers

From 23 April to 6 October 2019, the new exhibition ‘Roots seekers’ at the Red Star Line Museum is telling the stories of people who went looking for their roots; their own undiscovered histories. How do you make a family tree if there are no traces? How do memories evolve over time? What is fact and what is fiction? What traces will you leave behind in this world?

A new future

The Red Star Line Museum is telling the stories of migrants who passed through this harbour on their way to a new future. Generations later, their descendants often know very little about the difficult journey the previous generations made.

A yellowed postcard

The many stories that the museum tells have stimulated visitors in recent years to go looking for their own roots. With sometimes nothing more than a yellowed postcard, they go back in time, discover remarkable stories and come into contact with distant family members, literally and figuratively. In this exhibition, we shine a spotlight on a few of these roots seekers and their journeys.

The roots seekers’ journeys

In small rooms, behind shutters and under shelves, there are stories, objects and beautiful creations waiting to be discovered. Follow the journey of the roots seekers and experience the emotions that are hidden behind a family or migration history.

The exhibition and workshops

From 23 April to 6 October 2019, discover how music and clues erased from a photo can spark a journey of discovery. Gain inspiration during the film nights and participate in creative workshops. Perhaps you will learn more about your own roots story.

Dave Van Laere

Contact

Montevideostraat 3
Antwerpen

https://www.redstarline.be/

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2019-04-23 Until: 2019-10-06
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 17:00
0 10:00 - 17:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Chercheurs de racines

Du 23 avril au 6 octobre 2019, une nouvelle exposition intitulée « Rootszoekers » (Chercheur de racines) se tiendra au Musée Red Star Line. Elle présentera le vécu de ceux et celles qui sont partis à la recherche de leurs racines et des secrets de leur histoire personnelle. Comment reconstituer son arbre généalogique en l’absence de toute trace ? Comment les souvenirs évoluent-ils avec le temps ? Qu'est-ce que la vérité et qu'est-ce que la fiction ? Et quelles traces voulons-nous laisser dans ce monde ?

Un nouvel avenir

Le Musée Red Star Line raconte l'histoire des migrants qui sont passés ici à la recherche d'un nouvel avenir. Des générations plus tard, leurs descendants ont encore peine à imaginer le parcours difficile des anciens.

Une carte postale effacée

Ces dernières années, les nombreuses histoires relatées par le musée ont incité les visiteurs à se mettre à la recherche de leurs racines. Parfois simplement munis d’une carte postale décolorée, ils ont remonté le temps, découvert des histoires inédites et retrouvé des familles éloignées, au propre comme au figuré. Certains de ces chercheurs de racines et leur quête sont au cœur de cette exposition.

La piste des chercheurs de racines

Dans de petites pièces, derrière des volets ou sous les planchers se cachent des histoires, des objets et de belles créations. Suivez la piste des chercheurs de racines pour revivre les émotions qui se cachent derrière l'histoire d'une famille ou d'une migration.

Exposition et ateliers

Du 23 avril au 6 octobre 2019, découvrez comment un air de musique ou des traces effacées sur une photo peuvent déboucher sur un voyage initiatique. Puisez l’inspiration lors des soirées cinéma et venez mettre la main à la pâte lors des ateliers créatifs. Vous en apprendrez peut-être plus sur vos racines.

Dave Van Laere

Contact

Montevideostraat 3
Antwerpen

https://www.redstarline.be/

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2019-04-23 Until: 2019-10-06
2 10:00 - 17:00
3 10:00 - 17:00
4 10:00 - 17:00
5 10:00 - 17:00
6 10:00 - 17:00
0 10:00 - 17:00

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]