Sleep by Max Richter

Spend the night in Antwerp’s Cathedral, where you get to sleep and dream among Rubens’s masterpieces. As you slumber, the space will slowly fill with a healing stream of music that will make you forget all about your daytime worries. This may seem like an impossible dream but the Baroque festival will finally make it come true. Max Richter performs “Sleep” just once in every country. Don’t miss this once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Inspired by Bach

After performances in Berlin and Paris among others, Max Richter will be performing his night-time composition “Sleep” in Antwerp’s Cathedral.

Richter calls his work “my personal lullaby for a world that’s gone crazy”. Inspired by Bach’s Goldberg variations, the British post-minimalist composer succeeds in moving audiences around the world with “Sleep”. Experience the magical power of the sounds of the piano, the strings and electronic instruments, as you slumber on a camp bed. Meditative variations are an invitation to take your time and live a slower life in today’s hectic society. The emptiness of night and the warm harmonious sound combine into a heavenly haven for the body and soul. With this concert, Richter also wants to understand the effect of music on sleeping people.

Unique

Richter performs this work just once in every country. This is the first time that it will be performed in a church. Thanks to Rubens and the many Baroque masterpieces, the late-Gothic cathedral exudes an overall sense of transcendence, designed to lift people of out of their ordinary lives and transport them to the higher realm of the divine. How will the composition and the architecture react to each other? Which dynamic will be created between Richter’s tonal accents and the tonal accents of Rubens’s masterpieces? Will this profane music create a new form of sacrality in this centuries-old cathedral? You can discover the answers to all these and many other questions during this unique once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Cathedral of Our Lady | 07 & 08.09.2018

Mike Terry

Contact

Handschoenmarkt 3
Antwerpen

http://www.dekathedraal.be
info@dekathedraal.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-09-07 Until: 2018-09-08

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 90

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

BAROQUE BOOK DESIGN - copyright Collectie Museum Plantin-Moretus Antwerpen

BAROQUE BOOK DESIGN

How did book publishing evolve during the Baroque?  Why did a publisher like Balthasar Moretus choose to work with prominent artists?  And who are the innovators in publishing today?

Cokeryen - Photo Film Food. Tony Le Duc/Frans Snijders - copyright 2017, Tony Le Duc

Cokeryen - Photo Film Food. Tony Le Duc/Frans Snijders

The culinary photographer Tony Le Duc has succeeded in elevating basic food to the status of art. A talent that the Baroque painter Frans Snijders has in common with Le Duc.

Baroque Festival Card - copyright Sigrid Spinnox

Baroque Festival Card

Enjoy the full Antwerp Baroque 2018 experience with the Baroque Festival Card.

[object Object]

Sleep by Max Richter

Passer une nuit dans le cadre exceptionnel de la cathédrale d’Anvers. Osciller entre sommeil et éveil au milieu des chefs d’œuvre de Rubens pendant que l’espace se remplit de musique céleste qui chasse le stress de la journée. Un rêve apparemment fou mais qui se réalise pendant le festival baroque. Max Richter exécute sa composition Sleep une seule fois par pays, c’est donc une chance unique à ne pas manquer !

Inspiré de Bach

Après s’être produit notamment à Berlin et Paris, Max Richter vient donner son concert nocturne Sleep à la cathédrale d’Anvers.

‘Ma berceuse personnelle pour un monde tombé sur la tête !’, dit Richter de sa composition de huit heures. Inspiré des ‘Variations de Goldberg’ sur la musique de Bach, le compositeur post-minimaliste britannique fait vibrer une corde sensible avec Slee’. Allongés sur des lits de camps, vous vous imprégnez de la force magique du piano, des cordes et des instruments électroniques. Les variations méditatives sont un plaidoyer à la lenteur en ces temps frénétiques. Le vide de la nuit se fond aux chaudes harmonies pour porter le corps et l’esprit au point de repos. Son projet est une étude sur les effets de la musique sur l’homme endormi.

Un cas unique

Richter ne donne un concert de cette œuvre qu’une fois par pays et elle n’a jamais retenti dans un édifice religieux. Il émane de la cathédrale en bas gothique et ses nombreux chefs d’œuvre baroques une atmosphère de transcendance qui soulève l’homme hors du quotidien pour tenter de le hisser au rang divin. Comment la musique et l’architecture vont elles interagir ? Quelle dynamique va naître de la rencontre des tonalités sonores de Richter et des couleurs de Rubens ? Cette musique profane va-t-elle donner une nouvelle forme de sacralité à la cathédrale. Vous avez une chance unique de trouver la réponse à toutes ces questions.

Cathédrale Notre-Dame l | 07 & 08.09.2018

Mike Terry

Contact

Handschoenmarkt 3
Antwerpen

http://www.dekathedraal.be
info@dekathedraal.be

Book now

Opening Days

From: 2018-09-07 Until: 2018-09-08

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person: 90

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

BAROQUE BOOK DESIGN - copyright Collectie Museum Plantin-Moretus Antwerpen

BAROQUE BOOK DESIGN

Comment le livre a-t-il évolué au cours de la période baroque ? Pourquoi un éditeur comme Balthasar Moretus s’est-il mis à travailler avec de grands artistes ? Et qui sont aujourd’hui les innovateurs dans le domaine du livre ? 

Cokeryen - Photo Film Food. Tony Le Duc/Frans Snijders - copyright 2017, Tony Le Duc

Cokeryen - Photo Film Food. Tony Le Duc/Frans Snijders

Le photographe culinaire Tony Le Duc s’y entend pour élever des aliments de base au rang d’œuvres d’art. Un don que possédait aussi le peintre baroque Frans Snijders.

Baroque Festival Card - copyright Sigrid Spinnox

Baroque Festival Card

Profiter pleinement de Antwerp Baroque 2018 grâce à la Baroque Festival Card.

[object Object]