Vintage shops and underdogs

Monica Ho blogs under the name Monica Harmony. She was born and raised in Belgium and is a big fan of fashion and Belgian designers. She is inspired by street style, inspiring others with her own unique style. And now she shares her list of favourite Antwerp hotspots with shopping addicts.

[MAP]

Vintage and underdogs

Besides several established Belgian designers, Antwerp also has shops that sell unique collections, shops of young designers, concept stores and vintage shops. While everyone knows the main shopping drag, which is called Meir, Steenhouwervest and Nationalestraat are gradually emerging as the new places to shop while Kammenstraat is working on a revival.

Rosier 41

Antwerp has a holy trinity of second-hand shops that are famous for selling the collections of Belgian designers. Rosier 41 is one of them, selling high-end brands at affordable prices, off Kammenstraat. The shop sell pre-loved clothes by Belgian designers such as Dries Van Noten and Martin Margiela as well as international brands including Jil Sander, Dior and Balenciaga. What makes Rosier 41 even more unique though, is the fact that they also stock brand-new clothes, straight from the showroom of famous designers. Don’t forget to take a look at their window displays which often feature the designs of young designers or graduates of Antwerp’s fashion academy.

Rosier 41

Arte

You’ll definitely know Arte if you have a keen eye for young designers. Bertony Da Silva was inspired by Antwerp to launch this label, with its cross-over collections that combine fashion with graphic design and visual arts. The fashion brand is gradually morphing into a creative powerhouse, with its signature style of artful simplicity. With prices ranging from €85 to €250, you can support this young designer without breaking the bank.

Kammenstraat 54

Vier

Vier sells clothes that command street cred. Head to this fun shop with its pink walls clad with camo nets for an eclectic selection of catwalk designers and streetstyle brands. In addition to high-end designer brands such as Raf Simons and Prada, Vier also stocks more affordable brands such as Vans and Nike. The owners Bob and Giancarlo also design their own collection, VIER Antwerp, which is worn by locals but also has fans as far as Japan and the United States. Raf Simons also likes to shop here, and even collaborated on a collection with Vier called Homecoming King. A must visit!

Kammenstraat 66

Jutka & Riska

If you’re looking to score some unique vintage items, then Jutka & Riska is the place for you. The two Dutch sisters clearly love retro fashion, as you can tell by their shop in Nationalestraat. They have organised everything in their store by colour, making your life easier and also creating some sense of order. You can often also find more expensive items by famous designers here. Don’t forget to check out their accessories before leaving!

Nationalestraat 87

Labels Inc.

A second shop that is also famous for its pre-loved Belgian designer fashions is Labels Inc. For over ten years, this has been the place to go for anyone looking for affordable and recent designer clothes. Labels Inc. recently moved to larger premises. Everything on the racks and shelves is in mint condition. The place to go to pick up something by Belgian and international designers such as Ann Demeulemeester, Raf Simons, Yamamoto or Comme des Garçons!

Nationalestraat 95

Vrijdagmarkt 6

Like the other two second-hand shops, Vrijdagmarkt 6 has a good and affordable selection of designer items. Vrijdagmarkt only sells menswear, however, distinguishing itself from the other two second-hand shops. But women shouldn’t be deterred. This shop also regularly stocks amazing clothes in smaller men’s sizes, that also fit women. They post regular updates of new additions to their Facebook page, so you don’t always have to visit the shop to see what’s new.

Vrijdagmarkt 6

Episode

Vintage is hot, and Antwerp wouldn’t be a fashion capital without a proper vintage store! Episode was hugely popular with teenagers and students but suddenly closed its doors in 2011. Today, the Dutch chain is back on the block, in Reyndersstraat this time. Episode sells vintage clothes from around the world! Their offering of very affordable clothes changes every week. At Episode you will always find something that is bang on trend, with an interesting back story.

Reyndersstraat 26-28

Five Fridays

On Sundays, Antwerp’s Kloosterstraat always comes to life. Here you’ll find several shops that sell vintage and antique/design objects! Walk down the street to a fun clothing store called Five Fridays and browse their excellent selection of Scandinavian brands such as Samsoe & Samsoe, mbyM and Twist & Tango! They also sell unique, hand-made accessories and interior objects.

Kloosterstraat 181

Your Premium Store

Last but not least, walk down Kloosterstraat to find Your. This store offers a great mix of high-end labels and lesser-known brands. You’ll always end up picking up something in this 1100 sq.m. super store. They sell everything from menswear and womenswear, watches, jewellery, books shoes, perfume, music and gadgets in this excellently curated concept store.

Kloosterstraat 90

Refuel at Camino

My favourite spot for lunch or dinner is Camino, a great place for food in Muntstraat that is very popular with locals. Its location means you won’t exactly stumble upon it, but I definitely recommend stopping here for a refuel! Camino specialises in Asian food, serving a melting pot of various Asian cuisines, including Vietnamese, Korean, Chinese… I love their rice bowl and pork belly.

Muntstraat 4

Monica Ho

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Boutiques vintage et outsiders

Monica Harmony est le nom de bloggeuse de Monica Ho. Née en Belgique, Monica est passionnée de mode, surtout de créateurs belges, de vintage et d’outsiders. Elle s’inspire du style de la rue et est elle-même une source d’inspiration pour les amateurs de mode, avec qui elle partage ses meilleures adresses.

[MAP]

Vintage et outsiders

Outre les stylistes belges établis, vous trouverez à Anvers des boutiques qui vendent des collections uniques de jeunes stylistes, des concept stores et des boutiques vintage. Le Meir est bien connu du grand public comme l’artère commerçante par excellence, mais le Steenhouwersvest et la Nationalestraat s’imposent de plus en plus comme rues branchées et la Kammenstraat veille à son revival.

Rosier 41

Il y a à Anvers une sainte trinité de boutiques de seconde main connues pour leurs collections de stylistes belges. Rosier 41 est l’une d’entre elles. Située dans une rue transversale à la Kammenstraat, Rosier 41 vend des vêtements de marque à petits prix, non seulement de créateurs belges comme Dries Van Noten et Martin Margiela mais aussi des marques internationales comme Jil Sander, Dior et Balenciaga. Rosier 41 est unique parmi les boutiques de seconde main car elle vend aussi des vêtements neufs venus directement des showrooms de grands stylistes. Ne manquez pas de passer régulièrement devant sa vitrine, qui présente des créations de jeunes créateurs, certains tout juste diplômés de l’Académie de Mode.

Rosier 41

Arte

Ceux qui suivent le travail des jeunes stylistes connaissent bien Arte. Le créateur Bertony Da Silva s’est inspiré d’Anvers pour lancer sa marque et ses collections sont largement basées sur le graphisme et les arts plastiques, au point de dépasser largement le statut de simple griffe. Sa signature : la recherche de simplicité. Avec des prix qui varient entre 85 et 250 euros, Da Silva n’a pas de mal à soutenir les jeunes stylistes.

Kammenstraat 54

Vier

Vous êtes ici à la bonne adresse si vous êtes amateurs de street wear. La boutique aux murs roses est drapée de filets de camouflage et vous y trouverez une sélection éclectique de marques haut de gamme et de street wear. Raf Simons et Prada côtoient ici Vans et Nike. Les propriétaires Bob et Giancarlo y présentent aussi leur propre collection, VIER Antwerp, autant appréciée par les visiteurs japonais et américains que par les Anversois. Raf Simons lui-même est fan et a produit en collaboration avec Vier une collection sous le nom Homecoming King. À voir absolument !

Kammenstraat 66

Jutka & Riska

Jutka & Riska est l’adresse par excellence pour vêtements vintage. Les deux sœurs néerlandaises ont clairement une prédilection pour le rétro à en juger par leur boutique de la Nationalestraat. Les vêtements sont présentés par couleur et vous y trouverez régulièrement des pièces un peu plus coûteuses de marques connues. Vous serez séduits par leurs accessoires !

Nationalestraat 87

Labels Inc.

Labels inc. est un autre lieu connu pour son goût du stylisme belge et est depuis dix ans déjà apprécié d’une clientèle à la recherche de marques à un prix abordable. Elle s’est récemment établie dans une boutique plus grande. Tous les vêtements sont en parfait état et vous pourrez vous offrir une tenue signée Ann Demeulemeester, Raf Simons, Yamamoto ou Comme des Garçons !

Nationalestraat 95

Vrijdagmarkt 6

Comme les deux autres boutiques de design seconde main, Vrijdagmarkt 6 propose une vaste gamme de vêtements à prix doux, mais se consacre entièrement à la mode masculine. Les femmes y trouveront toutefois des vêtements en petite taille qui feront leur bonheur. Sa page Facebook offre une mise à jour quotidienne des acquisitions, ce qui vous permet de repérer les pièces qui vous intéressent avant de venir visiter la boutique.

Vrijdagmarkt 6

ModeMuseum

Envie d’une pause pendant votre journée de lèche-vitrines ? Entrez donc à la magnifique ModeNatie et son musée de la mode, le MoMu. Le musée a acquis une renommée internationale avec ses expositions et attire autant les amateurs de culture que les inconditionnels de la mode. Vous pouvez y visiter jusqu’au 18 mars 2018 une exposition consacrée à Olivier Theyskens. She walks in beauty retrace 20 ans de carrière de Theyskens en présentant non seulement ses modèles, mais des photos et des croquis inédits. L’endroit idéal donc pour souffler pendant votre course aux bonnes affaires.

Nationalestraat 28

Episode

Le vintage ne saurait manquer dans une ville de la mode comme Anvers. Très courue par les jeunes et les étudiants, Episode avait soudainement fermé ses portes en 2011 mais la chaîne néerlandaise est de retour dans la Reyndersstraat. Episode vend des vêtements vintage du monde entier et renouvelle sa gamme chaque semaine. Ses prix sont très intéressants et vous avez l’assurance d’y trouver des pièces qui sont non seulement actuels mais racontent aussi une histoire.

Reyndersstraat 26-28

Five Fridays

La Kloosterstraat est une rue qui s’anime particulièrement le dimanche car elle est très fréquentée par les amateurs de vintage, d’antiquités et de design. Établi au bout de la rue, l’immense store Five Fridays vous permettra de découvrir des marques scandinaves comme Samsoe & Samsoe, mbyM et Twist & Tango. Vous y trouverez aussi des accessoires et des objets de décoration uniques et faits main.

Kloosterstraat 181

Your Premium Store

Ne manquez surtout pas la boutique Your, au milieu de la Kloosterstraat, avec sa belle gamme de marques connues et moins connues. Impossible de ne pas trouver quelque chose à votre goût sur ses 1100 m² de superficie ! Vêtements homme et femme, montres, bijoux, livres, chaussures, parfums, musique, gadgets… tout a été soigneusement choisi dans ce concept store.

Kloosterstraat 90

La pause au Camino

Ma bonne adresse pour un lunch ou un dîner. Situé à la Muntstraat, Camino est surtout connu des locaux et il y a peu de chance que vous le découvriez par hasard. Il faudra donc sortir des rues commerçantes, mais vous ne serez pas déçus ! Camino est spécialisé dans la cuisine asiatique, dont elle propose un joyeux melting-pot : chinoise, coréenne, vietnamienne… Je vous conseille tout particulièrement son bol de riz à la poitrine de porc.

Muntstraat 4

 

Monica Ho

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]