Who was Peter Paul Rubens?

Peter Paul Rubens was an incredibly successful painter, who was active in Antwerp from 1600 until 1640, during the Baroque era. As an artist, he changed the course of art history. All the great museums in the world own works by Rubens or his workshop, which speaks volumes. But what else do we know about him? Who was Rubens? And why is he one of the most remarkable European figures of the entire seventeenth century?

A man of flesh and blood

“Dear Lucas,
When leaving Antwerp, will you make sure that everything is properly locked? That there are no paintings or sketches left behind in the upstairs workshop? Will you also remind Willem, the gardener, that he should send us some pears or figs when the time is right? Or some other tasty pickings from the garden? I wish you, my dear Lucas, good health, from the bottom of my heart. Please also extend my good wishes to Caroline and Suzanne.
Your loyal friend, Peter Paul Rubens”

Peter Paul Rubens wrote this short letter to his friend and collaborator Lucas Faydherbe in 1638 from Mechelen. This note reveals that he has all the same concerns as we do. He died two years later, at the age of 63. By then he had been suffering from gout for over twenty years.

I was in a very bad way these past days, suffering from gout and fever. To be honest, I could barely breathe, in between the coughing and the sighing.” (Rubens, in a letter from Madrid, dated 1628).

Self-made man

“My sense of honour compelled me to map my own destiny.” (Rubens, in a letter from 1606. He was 29 years old at the time.)

At the time of his death in 1640, Rubens was a superstar, a rich and famous man who ran a successful workshop and who owned a country estate and several other properties. By then he had received knighthoods from two kings and not because he came from a wealthy family. In fact, Rubens was born into a prominent and well-connected, albeit impoverished merchant family.
His parents were forced to flee Antwerp for several years because of the political and religious turbulence. They also had to content with financial problems. Peter Paul, their sixth child, received a solid education. The ambitious, hard-working intellectual Rubens, who spoke five languages, was proud throughout his life of his success, which he earned with hard work and dedication.

Manager

“I really am not exaggerating when I say that I have already refused over a hundred commissions, even from family members or from my wife’s family. Many of my best friends were not very pleased.” (Rubens, in a letter from 1611)

When Rubens returned in 1608 after an eight-year stay in Italy, he immediately received plenty commissions, for large-scale projects. He soon opened a workshop with apprentices and assistants, often also collaborating with colleagues. Rubens apprenticed in various Antwerp workshops, as was the custom at the time. 
His busy workshop also explains the large number of works that are attributed to Rubens. While he often had a share in the workshop’s output, the measure of his contribution varied substantially according to the circumstances. The price of a painting, among others, depended on his input. His workshop was considered expensive and his clients included the Catholic church, kings and noblemen, as well as private citizens and institutions. And naturally there was also the free (art) market. Rubens had a strong business acumen, which is evidenced by the fact that he worked with engravers who created prints of his works that could be printed and sold.

A prominent diplomat

“I have decided to force myself to cut this golden knot of ambition, to recover my liberty.” (Rubens, in a letter dated 1634)

Rubens maintained close contacts with kings, princes and other rulers in all the major European countries, which is remarkable for an artist. The Spanish Habsburgs entrusted him with diplomatic missions. While they already retained the rule over the Southern Netherlands, they also coveted the Northern Netherlands, resulting in a very tense situation, across Europe. Rubens also served as a negotiator between the courts of Spain and England to broker peace between the two warring nations.
In 1633, it was with a sense of relief (but also of disappointment) that he decided to put an end to his diplomatic activities as they had become too much of a burden.

A family man

Such a loss seems to me worthy of deep feeling and since the remedy for all ills is Forgetfulness, daughter of Time, I must look to her for help. But I will find it very hard to separate grief for this loss from the memory of this person…”. (Rubens, in a letter dated 1626, after the death of his first wife Isabella Brant)

“Albert is interested in ancient studies and is making progress in the Greek language.”
(Rubens, about his son, in a letter dated 1630)

Rubens married twice: in 1609, he wed the daughter of his parents’ neighbours, Isabella Brant, who died in 1626. She was the daughter of an important Antwerp city official. In 1630, he married sixteen-year old Helena Fourment. Rubens was a family man, even though he was always very busy and often absent. But he painted several portraits of family members, including of his own wife and children.
He had three children with his first wife Isabella and another five with Helena Fourment. His eldest daughter, Clara Serena, was christened in 1611. She died aged twelve. Rubens’s youngest child was born in 1641, after her father’s death.

For the love of all things Italian

“I have not given up hope that my wish to travel to Italy will yet be fulfilled. My desire only grows every day.” (Rubens, in a letter from 1629)

Rubens adored Italy. He lived and worked there for several years in his twenties, among others at the court of Mantua. In Venice he admired the work of his predecessors Titian, Veronese and Tintoretto. In Rome, the art of classical Antiquity made a great impression on him. He studied it avidly, creating a cornucopia of drawings, which is he would use later in his career, like an image database. He was also introduced to the work of his contemporary, Caravaggio.

Collector

“I have spent several thousands of florins on my home in the past year and I would not want to exceed my budget for a whim (the acquisition of Greek and Roman sculptures). I am not a prince after all, but a man who lives off the labour of his own hands.” (Rubens, in a letter dated 1618)

Rubens started to collect art and “antiquities” in his twenties, in Italy and he would continue to do this throughout his life. Over time, he acquired an outstanding collection of antique art, coins, sculptures, drawings, other works by predecessors and contemporaries, including works by painters from the Low Countries (Brueghel, Brouwer…), Germany (Dürer) and Italy (Titian, Tintoretto). Now and then Rubens also sold pieces from his prized collection.
It also served as a source of inspiration and to accentuate Rubens’s prominent status.

A congenial man

I am currently very preoccupied with the preparations for the triumphal entry of the Cardinal-Infante. I have no time to live or even write.” (Rubens, in a letter dated 1634)

We have gotten to know Rubens better thanks to his correspondence. His most personal letters, to his mother and his first wife, Isabella Brant, have not been preserved. His other letters, however, reveal glimpses of a congenial man, who was capable of emotions although he was a strong believer in the force of reason. He enjoyed good company and was attentive to women. He seems to have been a very demanding man to work for.

Antwerp!

“Here in Antwerp we live in a situation somewhere in the middle between war and peace. Yet we do experience all the misery and violence that is associated with war, without being able to enjoy the benefits of peace. Our city is gradually entering a state of decline.” (Rubens, in a letter dated 1627)

I should like to return home and remain there for the rest of my life.” (Rubens, in a letter from London dated 1629)

Rubens received his training in his mother’s native Antwerp in the 1590s. At the time, the city was recovering from the turbulent events of the past decades. While Antwerp experienced a revival, the future would bring uncertain and difficult times. In Antwerp, Rubens developed his social network and circle of friends. He also had several clients there and received many prominent visitors in his home. 
From 1608 until his death in 1640, Rubens spent the majority if his time in the city by the Scheldt, despite his many (diplomatic) missions and international travel, to Paris, London, Madrid… During the last years of his life, he often preferred to spend time on his country estate Het Steen near Mechelen. “To be honest with you, I have spent these past few months living in seclusion, in my country house which is a reasonable distance from Antwerp and far enough from the main roads.” (Rubens, in a letter dated 1636).

There is no other place in the world that boasts so many tangible traces and memories of Rubens, the master painter, as Antwerp, starting with his home and workshop in Wapper, which he partly designed himself. Because Rubens also worked as an architect. He worked, collected and lived in this house for 25 years.

My dear Lucas, 
I hope this letter reaches you before you leave Antwerp as I urgently need a panel with three large, life-size heads of my own hand… You would do me a great pleasure to send it to me immediately. Or perhaps you can bring it with you?”
 (Rubens in a letter to Lucas Faydherbe, sent from Het Steen near Mechelen)

Beeldarchief Antwerpen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

Others also viewed

[object Object]

Qui était Pierre Paul Rubens ?

En pleine époque baroque. Il changea la face de l’histoire de l’art. Tous les grands musées du monde possèdent des œuvres de Rubens et de son atelier. Cela en dit long. Mais que savons-nous de lui ? Qui était Rubens ? Et pourquoi fut-il un des personnages les plus en vue dans l’Europe du 17e siècle ?

Un être de chair et de sang

“Mon cher Lucas,
Veux-tu bien quand tu quittes Anvers t’assurer que tout est bien fermé à la maison ? Qu’il n’y a plus dans l’atelier de toiles ou de croquis ? Veux-tu aussi rappeler à Willem, le jardinier, qu’il doit nous cueillir des poires et des figues quand elles sont mûres ? Ou autre délice de mon jardin ? Je te souhaite de tout cœur, mon cher Lucas, une bonne santé, ainsi qu’à Caroline et Suzanne.
Ton fidèle ami, Pierre Paul Rubens”

C’est de Malines que Pierre Paul Rubens écrit en 1638 cette courte lettre à son ami et assistant Lucas Faydherbe. Cette petite missive dévoile que Rubens est un homme de chair et de sang, notre égal. Il meurt deux ans plus tard, à l’âge de 63 ans. Il souffre depuis vingt ans d’attaques de goutte.

“J’ai été très malade ces derniers jours : de la goutte et de la fièvre. Pour dire la vérité, je pouvais à peine respirer entre mes quintes de toux et mes soupirs.” (Rubens, dans une lettre expédiée de Madrid en 1628)

Un autodidacte

“Mon sens de l’honneur m’a poussé à prendre mon destin en main.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1606. Il a 29 ans)

Lorsqu’il meurt en 1640, Rubens est un homme riche et renommé. Il dirige un atelier prospère, est propriétaire d’un domaine à la campagne et d’autres biens immobiliers. Il a été fait chevalier par deux reines. Il ne doit pas sa richesse à sa famille. Il est certes issu d’une famille aisée de marchands, mais qui s’est appauvrie en dépit de ses nombreuses relations.
Ses parents quittent Anvers en raison des troubles politiques et religieux. Ils ont aussi des problèmes financiers. Pierre Paul, le sixième de ses sept enfants, reçoit toutefois une très bonne éducation. Ambitieux, travailleur, intellectuel et polyglotte, Rubens sera fier toute sa vie ce qu’il a atteint à la sueur de son front.

Un homme d’affaires

“Vraiment et sans exagérer : j’ai refusé plus de cent demandes, même de ma famille et de la famille de mon épouse. Un refus particulièrement désagréable pour beaucoup de mes meilleurs amis.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1611)

À son retour d’Italie en 1608 où il a passé huit ans, Rubens est immédiatement sollicité pour des commandes importantes. Il dirige un atelier qui emploie des élèves et des assistants. Il collabore également souvent avec des peintres amis. Il a lui-même fait son apprentissage dans quelques ateliers d’Anvers, comme il est de coutume à l’époque. 
La grande activité dans son atelier explique le grand nombre de toiles au nom de Rubens. Il participe lui-même à la réalisation des toiles en fonction de la valeur de la commande. Le prix d’un tableau dépend en effet en partie de son propre apport. Son atelier a la réputation d’être parmi les plus chers. Ses clients sont l’Eglise, des têtes couronnées et des nobles, mais aussi des institutions et des riches bourgeois. Il y a également un marché libre de l’art.
Rubens a le sens du commerce, comme en témoigne sa collaboration avec des graveurs, qui produisent des gravures de ses œuvres, faciles à imprimer et à vendre.

Un fin diplomate

“J’ai décidé de me faire violence et de renoncer à mon ambition pour recouvrer ma liberté.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1634)

Rubens entretient des relations étroites avec des reines, des princes et autres souverains des plus grandes pays d’Europe, un fait exceptionnel pour un artiste. Il  est impliqué dans la diplomatie des Habsbourg d’Espagne. Ils sont régents des Pays-Bas méridionaux et ont des visées sur les Pays-Bas septentrionaux. L’Europe toute entière est le théâtre de tensions politiques. Rubens participe notamment aux négocations de paix entre l’Angleterre et l’Espagne.
Il met fin à ses activités diplomatiques en 1633 avec soulagement et désillusion car elles ont considérablement pesé sur sa vie.

Un père de famille

“C’est une grande perte, et qui déclenche chez moi les sentiments les plus intenses. Le seul remède est l’Oubli, fille du Temps. Je dois maintenant chercher son aide. Il sera difficile de libérer ma tête de son chagrin.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1626, après la mort de sa première épouse Isabella Brant)

“Albert s’est sérieusement plongé dans l’étude de l’Antiquité. Il fait déjà des progrès en grec.” (Rubens à propos de son fils, dans une lettre de 1630)

Rubens se marie deux fois. Il épouse en 1609 sa voisine Isabella Brant, qui meurt en 1626. Elle est la fille du greffier communal d’Anvers. Rubens se remarie en 1630 avec Helena Fourment, qui n’a que 16 ans. Rubens est très attaché à sa famille en dépit de son intense activité professionnelle et de ses fréquentes absences. Il produit par exemple quantité de portraits des membres de sa famille.
Il a trois enfants avec sa première épouse Isabella, cinq avec Helena Fourment. Sa fille aînée, Clara Serena, est baptisée en 1611 et meurt à l’âge de douze ans. La cadette des enfants de Rubens naît en 1641, juste après sa mort.

Un amoureux de l’Italie

“Je n’ai pas abandonné l’espoir que mon souhait soit exaucé : partir en Italie. Cette aspiration est chaque jour plus forte.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1629)

Rubens aime l’Italie. Jeune homme, il y vit et travaille pendant plusieurs années, notamment à la Cour de Mantoue. Il admire à Venise les œuvres de Titien, de Véronèse et du Tintoret. À Rome, il est impressionné par l’art gréco-romain qu’il étudie avec ferveur, notamment en en produisant des dessins, se forgeant une sorte de banque de données dans laquelle il puisera plus tard dans sa carrière.  Il découvre aussi les œuvres de son contemporain Le Caravage.

Un collectionneur

“J’ai dépensé cette année des milliers de florins dans ma maison et je ne devrais pas dépasser les limites de mon budget pour un caprice (l’achat de statues gréco-romaines). Car enfin je ne suis pas un prince, mais un homme qui doit vivre du travail de ses mains.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1618)

En Italie déjà, alors que Rubens n’a qu’une vingtaine d’années, il collectionne de l’art et des ‘antiquités’, une passion qu’il nourrira toute sa vie : art antique, pièces de monnaie, sculptures, œuvres de prédécesseurs et de contemporains… Sa collection devient ce qu’on appellerait aujourd’hui ‘une collection majeure’, avec notamment des toiles de peintres des Pays-Bas (Bruegel, Brouwer…), d’Allemagne (Dürer) et d’Italie (Titien, Le Tintoret). Il arrive aussi à Rubens de vendre des pièces de sa collection. Il tire également de l’inspiration de sa collection… et la confirmation de son statut social.

Un homme affable

“Je suis actuellement très occupé par les préparations de la Joyeuse Entrée du Cardinal-Infant. II n’y a pas de temps pour la vie ou l’écriture.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1634)

On connaît notamment Rubens à travers sa correspondance. Les lettres les plus personnelles, écrites à sa mère et sa première épouse Isabella Brant ont été perdues. Mais dans celles qui ont été conservées, transperce un homme au caractère affable. Rubens est un homme sensible, même s’il se laisse plutôt guider par sa raison que par ses émotions. Il est de très bonne compagnie et montre beaucoup d’égards à la gent féminine. Il semble qu’il soit très exigeant avec ses collaborateurs.

Anvers !

“Nous sommes ici à Anvers dans une situation qui se situe quelque part entre la paix et la guerre. Pourtant nous subissons l’enfer et la violence qui vont de pair avec la guerre, sans jouir des bienfaits de la paix. Notre ville va lentement vers son déclin .” (Rubens, dans une lettre de 1627)

“Je rentrerais volontiers chez moi pour y demeurer le restant de ma vie.” (Rubens, dans une lettre de Londres de 1629)

Rubens se forme à la peinture dans sa propre ville dans les années 1590. Anvers se remet des blessures infligées par une sanglante décennie. La ville revit, mais traversera encore bien des épreuves.  Rubens se tisse à Anvers un réseau de connaissances et amis, a une clientèle bien fournie et reçoit des hôtes de marque.
De 1608 jusqu’à sa mort en 1640, Rubens passe une bonne partie de son temps dans la cité scaldienne, en dépit de ses missions diplomatiques et ses séjours à l’étranger : Paris, Londres, Madrid... Il passe une bonne partie des ses dernières années dans son domaine Het Steen à proximité de Malines. “Pour dire la vérité, j’ai plutôt vécu les derniers mois dans l’isolement, dans mon domaine qui est à bonne distance d’Anvers et des routes principales.” (Rubens dans une lettre de 1636)

Nulle part ailleurs qu’à Anvers, la présence du Maître Rubens n’est aussi palpable. À commencer par sa maison d’artiste au Wapper, qu’il a en partie conçue lui-même. Car ce touche-à-tout est également architecte. Il travaille, collectionne et vit près de 25 ans dans sa maison du Wapper.

“Mon cher Lucas,
J’espère que cette lettre te trouvera encore à Anvers, car j’ai d’urgence besoin d’un panneau avec trois têtes grandeur nature de ma main…. Tu me feras un grand plaisir en me l’envoyant sans délai. Ou peut-être peux-tu l’apporter en personne ?”
(Rubens dans une lettre à Lucas Faydherbe envoyée du Steen près de Malines)

Beeldarchief Antwerpen

Contact





Book now

Opening Days

Special opening days

Special closing days

Individual visitors

Price per person:

Reduction rates

Card holders

City Card: .

Groups

Prices

Schools

Prices

d'Autres ont aussi consulté

[object Object]